Frida meets Modigliani

Bel-Elongated-Frida-blog

Thought I’d join Michelle’s GPP crusadesn°33 Back to School – which I haven’t joined in ages. This girl too often needs a push! Been wanting to acquaint myself more with abstract art and art styles in general. Like going back to Art School which I never did. I quickly abandoned a journal as my canvas since I found it too small. Instead I started using a watercolor pad as my canvas on this artylicious autodidactic journey. Turning to the masters and learning from their styles and visions is interesting and also a fun painting challenge. As a red thread, I chose Frida Kahlo to be my model and muse (surprise surprise). It’s been more difficult than I thought, but that’s part of the learning curve I guess. Anyway, above is my Elongated Frida painted with chalks, a medium I normally only use for accents. Below is the original inspiration. Left the hand out on purpose.

amedeo-modigliani-portrait-of-a-woman-jeanne-h%C3%A9buterne-in-large-hat-c-1918

Dachte, dass ich mal wieder bei Michelle’s GPP crusade n°33 Back to School – mitmache, was ich schon ewig nicht mehr getan habe. Dieses Mädl braucht zu oft einen Schubs. Hatte mich ja  entschlossen, abstrakte Kunst und Kunststile im allgemeinen besser kennenzulernen. So als würde ich wieder zur Kunstschule gehen, auf der ich ja nie war. Schnell hab ich ein Journal als Leinwand aufgegeben, da es einfach zu klein war. Stattdessen hab ich zu einem Aquarellblock gegriffen, der mich auf dieser autodidaktischen “artylicious” Reise begleitet. Sich den Meistern zuzuwenden und von ihren Stilen und Visionen zu lernen ist interessant und auch eine erfreuliche Malherausforderung. Als roten Faden hab ich Frida Kahlo als Model und Muse ausgewählt (Überraschung, Überraschung jaja). Es ist schwieriger als ich dachte, doch wie immer ist das Teil des Lernens, oder? Egal, oben ist nun meine Längliche Frida, gemalt mit Kreide. Ein Medium, dass ich normalerweise zum Akzentesetzen verwende. Darunter ist das inspirierende Original. Hand habe ich bewußt weggelassen.

 Modigliani-3

Amedeo Modigliani, Italian painter and sculptor, who was concerned with graceful, simplified, and sympathetic portrayal of the human figure. Recognisable through his style of elongated shapes, oval faces, and swaths of color. Copied a lot, but as always, nothing better than the original.

                 modigliani2     modigliani1

Amedeo Modigliani, italienischer Maler und Bildhauer, der sich mit graziösen, vereinfachten und sympathischen Porträts von menschlichen Figuren befaßte. Erkennbar durch seinen Stil von länglichen Formen, ovalen Gesichtern und flächigen Farben. Viel kopiert, doch wie immer ist nichts besser als das Original.

          modigliani-amedeo-jeanne-hebuterne-a-la-cloche      modigliani-5

Read here some museworthy thoughts on Modi and his muse and Jeanne Hébuterne. Modi lived a passionate live with his fiancé Jeanne, passionate about art … and alcohol and drugs. Sad, young and poor ending, for both.  Yet the art lives on.

Hier kannst Du Interessantes knapp gefaßt über Modi uns seine Muse Jeanne Hébuterne nachlesen. Modi lebte mir seiner Verlobten Jeanne ein leidenschaftliches Leben, Leidenschaft für die Kunst … und Alkohol und Drogen. Trauriges Ende für beide, mit frühem Ende. Doch die Kunst lebt weiter.

   Modigliani-nude-1     Modigliani-nude-2

His nudes are just as famous. *** Seine Akte sind ebenso berühmt.

Last but not least, the master himself *** Zuguterletzt, der Meister selbst.

  amadeo-modigliani    Modigliani_Picasso_Andre-Salmon1916

Young Modigliani *** Modigliani, Picasso and Andre Salomon.

22 responses to “Frida meets Modigliani

  1. War schon länger nicht mehr auf Deiner Seite. Sieht so aus, als hätte Frida hat Modi wirklich getroffen, ist Dir prima gelungen. Sowas könnte ich nie.
    Liebe Grüße

  2. belinda – what a cool idea, to try on another style using a familiar and favorite subject. great job on the frida piece. thanks for sharing with the team! so glad to have you back girl – missed you. xo

  3. OOOhhhh…. love this! You know I love Modigliani, so this is precious….Frida in Modigliani style – you are so clever!
    I have been playing around with self portraits in different artists styles (only got as far as Modigliani and Klimt). I like your idea of Frida rather than a self portrait.
    You always inspire!

    Jacky xox

  4. fab Frida Belinda! very inspired

    also very interesting reading!!!

  5. Awesome work! and what a great mind-stretching concept, thank you for such inspiration.

  6. Love this gorgeous art of yours and the way you’ve fused the two concepts.

  7. Modigliani has always been one of my favorite artists, but I like your version of Frida even better than the original. The blue hat against the green background is stunning.

  8. You’ve always been brave!

  9. belinda,
    brilliant! i LOVE this..i hope you will continue on this adventure as it seems a most perfect expression vehicle for you.

    BRAVO!

  10. Ich bin begeistert und hoffe auf weitere Treffen zwischen Frida und anderen Künstlern. Super Idee!!!!!

  11. “Back to the roots” begebe ich mich auch immer wieder, komme ja aus einem Künstlerhaushalt und brauche das einfach.
    Nach so vielen gesehenen neckisch überfrachteten Stempel-oder Scrappwerken ist das wie Durchatmen. Modigliani und sein ganz eigener Stil gehört mit zu meinen Favoriten. Deshalb gefällt mir Dein Date mit Frida sehr gut! Nicht nur eine schnöde Kopie, da ist soviel Belinda eigener Stil und Können sichtbar, dass es eine Freude ist das Bildchen genau anzuschaun. Dazu Pastell schwierig aber genial, ich liebe meine Kreiden ebenfalls.
    Fazit. Großes Kompliment: Ein durch und durch gelungenes Experiment, dem Du hoffentlich weitere folgen lässt, denn darauf bin ich mehr als gespannt.
    Liebe Grüße Anja

  12. einfach stark,Belinda. malen ist nicht so meine stärke ,kunst geschichte ist eher mein ding. in schulzeit hab ich alles reingesogen wie ein schwamm,könnte nie genug kriegen. heute bin ich weiter hin an kunst und künstler gesichichten sehr interessiert.

    Liebe Grüße an dich
    Sanja

  13. What a gorgeous painting! You’ve captured Modigliani’s style but gave it your own touch. Not surprised to see the Frida thread, wonderful idea. Hope to see more! Bravo.

  14. What a fun project. I love how you pulled it off too. Gorgeous colors!

  15. Outstanding! I love what you have done – the melding of style & muse.

  16. Loved your post and your art work. I am amazed with your talent.

  17. Really nicely done, Belinda!

  18. Love your painting or rather chalking! Very refreshing colors and style.

  19. Simply exquisite. I love your interpretation and your chalk work is stunning. Hope you are well, my friend. : D

  20. This is fabulous! I love this idea! You are so inspiring Bel!

  21. Große Wandbilder ……….. dank

Leave a Reply

