What inspires me?

what-inspires-belWhile making the journal page for a rr, I was wondering how I could incorporate “openings“. Came up with a not too original idea, but I painted cardstock with black paint and punched holes in it to hang down small tags. Kara, the journal owner, asked us what inspires us.  Life is my biggest inspiration – no matter what! Hearing a song on the radio, seeing a woman with a beautiful skirt and shirt, eating a delicious and beatiful arranged meal, paging thru a magazine, talking to a friend,see a beautiful tree … I could go on, so much happens in everyday life! Found the model in a Vogue issue and just loved her clever look, so appropriate and she totally fits into her large book. I’m quite enjoying this rr, a good excuse to get paints on my hands. Red is her favorite color and I printed the background with my handcarved stamps and gesso. Funny how different this page turned out! Wanted to color the white, but when laying the image onto it, the black and white and red looked just right. Now looking at it, I might paint the punched holes white, let’s see. Need to work on the other side🙂

Als ich die Journalseite für ein RR machte, hab ich überlegt, wie ich “Öffnungen” einsetzen könnte – mag ja Herausforderungen. OK, ist nicht supi originell, doch ich hab Karton schwarz bemalt und dann Löcher gestanzt und Tags runtergehangen. Kara, die Journalbesitzerin, will wissen was uns inspiriert.  Das Leben ist meine größte Inspiration – egal was! Wenn ich ein Lied im Radio höre, eine Frau mit einem wunderschönen Rock und Top sehe, ein köstliches und wunderschönes Menu im Restaurant esse, durch eine Zeitschrift blättere, mit einer Freundin spreche, einen wunderschönen Baum sehe … Und so weiter, jeden Tag passiert immer so viel!  Hab das Model in einer Vogue-Ausgabe gefunden und fand ihren Blick einfach zu klasse, passt, und von der Größer her auch, da das Buch groß ist.  Gefällt mir ganz gut dieses RR, eine gute Ausrede Farbe an die Hände zu bekommen. Rot ist ihre Lieblingsfarbe und ich hab den Hintergrund mit meinen geschnitzten Stempeln bedruck. Komisch, wie anders diese Seite nun geworden ist von meiner eigentlichen Idee! Wollte das Weiß mit bunten Farben über malen, doch als ich das Motiv auflegte, schaute das Schwarz-Weiß auf dem Rot passend aus. Allerdings wenn ich mir die Seite so anschau, werde ich die gestanzten Löcher wohl weiß ausmalen. Die andere Seite muss natürlich auch noch gemacht werden. 🙂

9 responses to “What inspires me?

  1. This looks great, love the B&W with the red.

  2. Beautiful page! Good thing you didn’t colour the background since the b-w with red looks just perfect.

  3. I like the way the black and white is offset by the red it looks very 1960s..thanks so much for your comment on my blog about my fabric collaged box..I really enjoyed making it

  4. wunderschöne seite.
    rot-weiß – schwarz kombi wirkt so erfrischend.

  5. Wow eine traumhaft schöne Seite.
    Sieht klasse aus.

  6. Beautiful and simple ispirations- life!
    ox

  7. Love those handcarved stamps of yours Belinda…this is wonderful. That image from Vogue, perfect!!!

  8. Very cool. Love this piece.

  9. hi Belinda,
    I really LOVE how this page turned out and to see the way your simple color choices made everything pop! This background is just m.a.r.v.e.l.o.u.s. and it was fun reading that you made it with hand-carved stamps!
    – vicki xo

Leave a Reply

