Sugar Skulls & Mex Tin Art

Never tasted a real sugar skull made in Mexico for the Day of the Dead.😉 But couldn’t resist making sugar skull earrings. I love glass, but since I keep dropping and breaking some of my precious glass earrings, I decided to make some with Fimo. It’s a bit more grateful than glass. They totally remind me of frosted cookies! I still have my Wilton tips from my teenage cake decorating yearsr. We have nothing comparable in Germany nor Europe, so these are treasures! The beads are also Fimo.

Richtige Sugar Skulls (Zuckertotenköpfe), wie die Mexikaner sie für den Day of the Dead machen, hab ich noch nie probiert.😉 Kam aber nicht umhin, mir Sugar Skull Ohrringe zu machen. Ich liebe Glas, doch da es mir einfach immer wieder hinfällt und ich bereits kostbare Glasohrringe zerbrochen habe, hab ich diese aus Fimo gemacht. Es ist dankbarer als Glas. Erinnern mich irgendwie an amerikanische Zuckerkekse. Ich hab immer noch meine Wilton-tips (Spritztütenaufsätze, keine Ahnung, wie diese Metalldinger heißen) aus meinen Teenager-Kuchendekojahren. Bei uns gibt’s mittlerweile auch ein paar mehr Spritzaufsätze, aber kein Vergleich zur Riesenauswahl der Firma Wilton. Die Perlen sind auch aus Fimo.

Just finished the above Frida tin nicho. This one is from ARTchix Studio, Helga calls them dreamboxes and she has a great selection. Mexican Tin Art cannot be missed when travelling to Mexico. *** Hab diese Frida tin nicho gemacht. Dieser ist von ARTchix Studio, Helga nennt sie Dreamboxes und sie hat eine prima Auswahl. Wer nach Mexiko reist, kann mexikanische Tin Art nicht übersehen.

The first tin art I acquiered back in March was from the boutique “La Bandida” in Puerto Vallarta. I couldn’t resist the winged flaming heart. *** Die erste Tin Art, die ich mir im März gehönnt hatte, war aus der Boutique “La Bandida” in Puerto Vallarta. Konnte diesem beflügelten brennenden Herz einfach nicht widerstehen.

At another shop I found this fab heartful candle holder for the wall. Check out the side view. *** In einem anderen Laden fand ich diesen tollen herzigen Kerzenhalter für die Wand. Das kl. Foto zeigt die Seitenansicht.

The gallery “Puerco Azul” in Puerto Vallarta carries fab contemporary Mexican art and kitsch. They sell the funniest tin nichos!! Above is “La historia de un amor” – a love story. Love all the details! *** In der Gallerie “Puerco Azul” in Puerto Vallarta gibt’s herrliche zeitgenössische mexikanische Kunst und Kitsch. Sie verkaufen die witzigsten Tin Nichos!! Obendrüber ist “La historia de un amor” – eine Liebesgeschichte. Find die Details klasse!

They also had some Rock’n Roll tin nichos, loved this Kiss Shrine, there was also a Rolling Bones (Stones) shrine, all so unique! The artist is fabulous and has a great sense of humor. *** Dort gibt’s auch Rock’n Roll Tin Nichos, klasse ist dieser Kiss-Schrein. Es gab auch einen Rolling Bones (Stones) Schrein, echt einzigartig! Toller Künstler mit einem guten Sinn für Humor.

I couldn’t resist this cool cross tin nicho from this gallery – I dig the calaveras and devils! hehe *** Diesem coolen tin nicho Kreuz (auch von Puerco Azul) konnte ich nicht widerstehen – genial find ich die Totenköpfe und Teufelchen! hehe

36 responses to “Sugar Skulls & Mex Tin Art

  1. Dawnie Thomas

    Those earings are way cool miss B and I have some shrines that I cant bring myself to decorate just yet. hmmm… now do I dare ?
    My fav is the kiss shrine, gave me a giggle
    Mexico… sigh!….I WISH !!!
    Hope you have a roof over that creative head of yours.
    squeezes
    Dawnie T
    XXX

  2. Die Ohrringel sind ja so was von klasse! Und sehen an Dir super aus, wie Du ja bereits weißt. Schade, dass Du den Rolling Bones Nicho nicht auch noch rausrückst. Hätte ich gerne gesehen. Schönes Wochenende!

  3. Belinda! Your skulls look good enough to eat!!!

  4. Belinda,

    I LOVE the earrings! I’ve been admiring your Day of the Dead items for quite a while, and these are great!

    Anne

  5. Hi Belinda,
    Love all your Mexican Tin art. Your skulls are great too.

  6. kathy mcelroy

    Love your fimo earrings. They look yummy!

  7. Rolling Bones Nicho hätte ich auch gerne gesehen *schnieffffffff*
    oh,oh,oh…..deine ohringe sind zuckersüß🙂 und dein tin ist genialst.mag deine arbeiten sehr!
    hab einen schönen WE,Belinda!!

  8. Your sugar skull earrings are fabulous! And no worries about not eating those sugar skulls, Yuck! They aren’t really made to be eaten, but more as an offering. I will be doing a tutorial soon on making real sugar skulls real soon.

    Besitos. your Nichos rawk!
    Yoli

  9. oh my gosh, your sugar skull earrings are amazing!! is the big pair heavy? you have a delightful and creative blog.

  10. Belinda,

    Omg, I love the tin nicho !! Love how you put the wings on.

  11. Your love for Mexico keeps shining! The earring stand is perfecto.

  12. Love those cool earrings. The nichos are beautiful- LOVE the Frida!!!!! The Kiss one is so cute.
    XXXX

  13. So cool! Love all the birght colors…is it true that you do not have a source for wilton tips and decorating tips? I am going to be thinking about that all day. We have them everywhere here. Let me know if you need any I would be happy to send you some.

    Jill in Florida

  14. wie gerne würde ich sie an dir sehen, zum anbeißen schön. lustige schreine hast du aufgetrieben. deiner ist gleich zu erkennen!

  15. Those earrings are to die for! I love them!
    Your work is always full of such color and life! It always makes me happy.

  16. love finding you! having spent eight years in the panteon outside of oaxaca beside dolores porres it is a joy to see your amor por mexico so vital and alive! come visit me at http://www.corazon.typepad.com where i am hosting a dia de los muertos exhibit to benefit Street Kids if Oaxaca through art.
    placing you on my “saints and sinners” to share you with my amigas.
    con amor,
    rebecca

  17. Fabulous finds and I love your Frida nicho. I always get a colour fix when I visit your site. Thank you.

  18. Bravo! The best sugar skull earrings I have ever seen!

  19. Oh – das türkise Kreuz mit den Totenköpfchen und Teufelchen ist ja echt cool! Würde ich mir auch an die Wand hängen! :o)
    lg
    geisslein

  20. Every time I see sugar skulls or anything day of the dead it makes me wonder why I don’t do more of it…After all I am half Mexican! I love what you made.
    robin

  21. waouhhh Belinda, I love your skulls, they are so yummy.The Frida nicho looks so great, would love to see it “in the flesh”…and of course I’ll bring my envelopes next time

  22. Bonjour mon amie! Just got back to Austin after 2 months overseas and I had to rush and see what you’ve been up to. Wow and double Wow! What a treat to read all your posts!

    xoxo

  23. Your fimo skulls and beads are wonderful!! Love all of your tin pieces. I have been looking at Helga’s Nicho selection for a long time- I might just have to buy some soon!! Great job with Frieda’s shrine!!
    Hugs!
    Elizabeth

  24. Your blog is a treasure trove. Cool beads and earrings! Love Frida’s flourish and the black-white edge of the shrine. Could not have resisted the diabolito shrine either.

  25. what a great holiday you had and all those marvellous things you brought back to show us..arent they cool. I want to go now!!

  26. Your Frida “dream box” is amazing! I have a couple of metal shrines waiting for attention, you certainly know how to inspire. I am supposed to be packing for a trip to the west coast, but here I sit! I bet you get some interesting comments when you wear your sugar skull earrings, they really DO look good enough to eat, you’ve worked magic with Fimo that’s for sure. The ‘frosting’ deco on them reminds me of Oktoberfest hearts!

  27. annietavries

    Belinda: I am always amazed to see you’r so GOOD in everything you do! Love your Frieda tin nicho and your funny earrings (well made!)

  28. It’s so stunning your work, and the Frida thing we share;o)

  29. Belinda – thank you for your compliments on my pearl earrings! Would you consider trading a pair of your Day of the Dead earrings for a pair of my pearl earrings? If so, email me and let me know what color crystal you would like. And have you seen the great Day of the Dead ceramic beads at this site http://www.gaea.cc/ ?

    Anne

  30. It is all beautiful Belinda !
    You are great ;o)
    Hug from Rini

  31. Love all of your tin nichos!! My favourite though is the Frida Tin Nicho that you made yourself…clever girl. And…those earring are FAB!

  32. Hi Belinda
    I have loved Artchix for as long as it’s been around and I love coming to your blog so I gave you one of those fun blog awards!

    Robin

  33. NO MORE EXCUSES!!! You’ve got to come to Texas, girl!! Lots of Tex-Mex fun.

    I’ve been hit by a flu almost as big as Gustav and that’s why I’ve been lagging in commenting. Always a joy to visit you, mein liebe!

  34. Anke Michele Stobrava

    Hello Belinda~
    I see that you have a couple of our tin nicho pieces(KISS, La Historia de un Amor,) glad you enjoy them, they are classics, we have changed the design so much now. I would like to expand more into the European market. Do you have any ideas, especially in Deutschland?

    GrüBe aus Mexiko~

    Anke Michele

Leave a Reply

