Of Klimt and Matryoshkas

I knew I would enjoy working in Jacky‘s fabric gothic arch book (check out her book HERE)! Since she loves Klimt as well I knew it had to be a Klimt theme. Wanted to make a shrine with doors to open but Dawnie had the same idea (check it out on her blog here and HERE‘s her own book). So I had to think of something else. Instead I made a pocket arch page which could hold a Santa Klimt and a pointed quatrefoil window. Was surprised how many golden ribbons I have in my possession.

    

Ich wußte, dass ich viel Spass hätte, in Jacky‘s Stoff-Gotikbogenbuch (unbedingt ihr Buch HIER) anschauen! Da sie auch ein Klimt-Fan ist mußte es natürlich ein Klimtthema sein. Wollte eigentlich einen Schrein mit öffnen Türen machen, doch Dawnie hatte die gleiche Idee (ihre nadelgefilzten Schrein kannst Du hier sehen und HIER ist übrigens ihre eigenes Zetti-Buch). Somit mußte ich mir was anderes einfallen lassen. Stattdessen hab ich eine Gotikbogenseite als Tasche gemacht, mit einer Santa Klimt und einem spitzigen Vierpass-Fenster. War erstaunt, wieviele goldige Bänder ich in meinem Fundus habe.

Sweet Dot surprised me with this adorable fabric Matryoshka (or known as Babooshka) made with love and Kaffe Fassett fabrics. And if that wasn’t enough, she also treated me with two Dotee Doll kits, unmistakebly Dotee-Art stickers, this amazing fabric selection and a wonderful handmade large glass bead. I’m totally enchanted and overwhelmed!

 

Die liebe Dot hat mich mit dieser zuckerzüßen selbstgemachten Matrjoschka (oder auch Babuschka) überrascht, gemacht mit Kaffe Fasset Stoffen. Wenn das nicht schon noch reicht, dann gab’s noch herrliche Stoffe, Dotte Doll-Päckchen zum Selbermachen und unverwechselbare Dotee-Art-Sticker und eine wunderschöne große handgemachte Glasperle. Bin noch total entzückt und überwältigt.

 

A good opportunity to show this wonderful religious Matryoshka shrine I saw in Prague last September. Loved the carved shrine opening, fab idea! And of course there were plenty of Mucha and Klimt Matryoshkas. And some wooden dolls, great painted details, woodburning etc. Eggzelent were also the painted Mucha eggs (below)!

Eine gute Gelegenheit, den wunderschönen religiösen Matrjoschka-Schrein zu zeigen, den ich in Prag in einem Laden letzten September sah. Find die Öffnung klasse, super Idee! Und natürlich gab’s viele Mucha und Klimt Matrjoschkas. Und Holzpuppen mit wunderschön gemalten Details, Brennarbeiten etc. Eggzelent waren auch die bemalten Mucha-Eier (unten)!

 

And another fabric gift arrived – kind Rini spoils me with a beautiful scented friendship fabric pillow (below!) in perfect colors. Thank you so much Rini.

Und ein weiteres stoffiges Geschenk erreichte mich – die nette Rini verwöhnt mich mit einem wunderschönen duftendem Freundschaftskissen (oben) in herrlichen Farben. Herzlichen Dank Rini!!

16 responses to “Of Klimt and Matryoshkas

  1. Belinda,
    deine stoff arbeiten inspirieren mich immer wieder. ganz tolle idee gotikbogen seite als tasche umzufunktionieren und dein vierpass fenster passt bestens.einfach traumhaft schön!
    wüsche dir einen schönen WE!🙂

  2. I am happy that you are happy with my friendship pillow !
    Love Rini

  3. Beautiful gothic arch. Love the colourful background collage, especially the blue side! What a fun idea to make a pocket page.

  4. the painted pieces from prague are so interesting. are these popular collectibles? loved the painted eggs especially. and your arch was lovely; good idea lyle

  5. das fenster passt ideal! schöne details mit den knopfnähten. war noch nicht in prag, schöne fotos. die ikone ist toll.

  6. Wow, what inspiration. Love your goodies and great work shown here.

    xxxxxxx

  7. Wow !! LOve the colourful fabric gothic arch book and the yummy goodies.
    Take care !

  8. I ADORE Dot’s little Matroyshka dolls!

  9. Dawnie Thomas

    Have I told you lately how much ‘YOU ROCK ‘ chicky babe.

    Hugs YA

    Dawnie Prawnie
    xxx

  10. Lucky recipient! Would love to trade a fabric arch with you. Beautiful wooden matryoshkas.

  11. Belinda- this page for Jacky’s book is wonderful- she will be over the moon about it!! Dotee is an amazing gal and her dolls and wonderful packages are just so overwhelming!! I was recently gifted by her as well!!
    as alwys your blog provides me with wonderful inspiration!!
    Thank you!!!
    Elizabeth

  12. Oh My Goodness Belinda = SO much eye candy, the nichos are fab, your earrings are wonderful, who knew you could make sugar skulls look so good in Fimo! The matroshkas are fantastic. I got to see some wonderful ones in Russia back in 1999, but still nothing like these Mucha and Klimts….oh be still my heart!! Wonderful fabric pages too! It’s always fun coming for a visit🙂🙂🙂

  13. Wowza Belinda… I LOOOOOOVE my fabric page!!!! I havent been doing my usual blog checking for a while (busy and my trip) so I was just blown away to see my exquisite page-thank you so much…I just cant get enough Klimt and I love your Klimt pages for me and cannot wait to see it in real life.
    Of course everything else on the post is wonderful too – especially those gorgeous bubushka dolls from Russia and the eggs.
    Wonderful post!

  14. Oh my goodness Belinda! I am sorry I haven’t visited for a long time (my blog is back open by the way).

    Your page for Jacky is stunning! I know she will love it. So many beautiful details to look at. You are clever (and the fabric you used is delicous). The Klimt idea is perfect for Jacky!

    So pleased you enjoyed my little package. I wanted to send you some gifties as a way of thanking of your for your generosity of spirit. And for encouraging me on my fabric journey.

    The gift from Rini is lovely.

    Always so much eye candy on your blog to see🙂

    Dot xx

  15. What a lovely post is this! Your art … the art of other people: eye-candy!!! Herlich!!!

  16. Hello, my name’s Monica and I’m from Portugal. I´ve been in Prague some long years ago, where i’ve bought one of those beautiful wooden dolls, which i’ve unfortunatly lost. I would like very much to replace it. Do you know where i can buy it on-line?
    Best regards.

Leave a Reply

