Peek-a-boo

gretchenbod-peek-a-boo.jpg

I feel like I’m in FABRIC HEAVEN and Kaffe Fassett is right with me!!! You cannot imagine how much fun I am having playing with fabric and thread and beads and gretchenbod-arrow-page.jpgbuttons. Made a fabric softie book for the Round Robin, this time no stabilizer. The feeling you get when holding such a soft book in your hands is so unique, fabulous and just sensuous. For some reason Kaffe’s fabrics always put me in such a happy and even giggly mood. A sister-in-law refers to many of his pattern as children fabrics, maybe that’s why? Bringing out the kid in me. Laughing feels so good! Finally an addiction that is good for my health (ok, maybe not for my bank account hehe)! Recognize Gretchen, the scrappy gal? She is peeking through my fabric book. I like things to hang out and down, so this is just perfect. The theme of the RR is “Hidden Treasures“. There will be hidden things on the pages, but that wasn’t enough for me. So I thought I’d create an ordinary book format from the outside, but when you open it up, there will be lots of various shaped pages. The first one I created wasn’t planned, the ygretchenbod-treat.jpgummy “red paisley jungle fabric guided me to a – you probably guessed it already – gothic arch shape!!! Gretchen’s home is an arrow page, a shape I really like. And the arrow goes overboard and peeks out of the book as well. This book will travel the globe to 9 different destinations in the US, Canada, Australia, Germany and then in 10 months hopefully find it’s way back home to me. Filled with yummy fabric pages created from 10 wonderful and talented women. OK, I admit I am nervous and hope it will travel safely. Wouldn’t I love to be travelling along, so instead I wanted Gretchen to have the trip of her lifetime!!! And the pleasure meeting faraway creative friends and acquaintances. How exciting that she gets to visit with each and every one and spend some time with them. I am so happy for her and cannot wait for her to return and tell me about her adventurous journey. Gretchen cannot wait to share a “charming” treasure with all the fabric friends working in my book.

gretchenbod-front-side-view.jpg gretchenbod-spine2.jpg

Ich fühle mich, als wäre ich im STOFFHIMMEL und Kaffe Fassett ist mit dabei!!! Du kannst Dir nicht vorstellen, wieviel Spass ich habe, mit Stoff und gretchens-book-of-dreams8.jpgStickgarn und Perlen und Knöpfen zu spielen. Hab ein ein Softie-Stoffbuch für das Round Robin gemacht, dieses Mal ohne Stabilisator. Das Gefühl, ein solch weiches Buch in den Händen zu halten ist einzigartig, herrlich und einfach sinnlich. Aus irgendeinem Grund machen mich Kaffe’s Stoffe immer glücklich und versetzen mich sogar in eine Kicherstimmung. Eine Schwägerin bezeichnet etliche seiner Muster immer als Kinderstoffe, vielleicht deshalb? Sie bringen das Kind in mir zum Vorschein. Lachen tut so gut!! Endlich mal eine Sucht, die der Gesundheit nicht schadet (ok, vielleicht nicht zu gut für mein Bankkonto hehe)! Erkennst Du Gretchen, das Scrappy Gal (Reste-Mädel)? Sie lunzt oben durch mein Stoffbuch. Ich mags, wenn Dinge runter- und raushängen, somit war dies perfekt. Das Thema des RR ist “Versteckte Schätze“. Auf jeder Seite wird es also etwas Verstecktes geben. Und um das Ganze noch etwas Interessanter zu gestalten, hab ich ein gewöhnliches äußeres Buchformat gewählt, doch wenn Du es aufmachst, wird es verschiedene Buchseitenformate haben. Die erste, die ich gemacht habe wgretchens-book-of-dreams6.jpgar nicht geplant, der herrliche “rote Paisley Jungle Stoff hat mich – Du ahnst es wohl schon – zu einem Gotikbogenformat geführt!! Gretchen’s Zuhause ist eine Pfeil-Seite, eine Form, die ich total gerne mag. Natürlich ist der Pfeil zu groß und schaut seitlich aus dem Buch hervor. Dieses Buch wird den Globus umreisen und an 9 verschiedenen Orten in den USA, Kanada, Australien und Deutschlang Stops einlegen und dann zu mir zurückkehren. Gefüllt mit herrlichen Stoffseiten hergestellt von wunderbar kreativen und talentierten Frauen. OK, ich gebe zu, dass ich etwas nervös bin und hoffe, dass es sicher reist. Würde nur zu gerne mitreisen, deshalb wollte ich, dass Gretchen die Reise ihres Lebens hat!!! Und das Vergnügen weitentfernte kreative Bekannte und Freundinnen kennenzulernen. Wie aufregend, dass sie jede einzelne besuchen kann und Zeit mit ihnen verbrignen darf. Ich freue mich total für sie und kann es nicht erwarten dass sie zurückkehrt und mir alles von ihrer abenteuerlichen Reise erzählt. Gretchen freut sich total, dass sie auch für jedes der Mädel einen “charming” Schatz als Geschenk bereit hält.

gretchenbod-back-lips.jpg

28 responses to “Peek-a-boo

  1. In das Buch kann ich mich glatt verlieben und es ist so schön bunt. Dein Werk ist einfach fantastisch Belinda.

  2. your happy fabric creations make me smile. I can see the fun you have making them. thanks for sharing. lyle

  3. hi Belinda ,
    trust you are keeping well.
    don’t have words …………everything F.A.B
    hugs
    crafty joan
    drawling !!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Wow! This book, fabric, buttons are so colorful. I can see why you are in fabric heaven.

    I wish that Gretchen has a safe journey to all your artist friends. What a wonderful surprise it will be when this book gets returned to you.

  5. annietavries

    Oh Belinda: this is só exciting! Your already beautiful book getting filled with so much more art! WOW!

  6. dein gretchen buch ist fabulos,Belinda! :0)

  7. Wow! I love all the fabric art in this post!! It’s better than candy!

    I tagged you for a meme thing on my blog honey.

    xoxos

  8. diese farben..wahnsinn….da muss man doch erst mal sitzen und schauen und fühlen…dann nochmal dasselbe…..und irgendwann fängt man dann an zu nähen….dann nochmal schauen und sich an der intensität der farben sattsehen…faszinierend…
    LG Barbara

  9. Wow, wow, wow!!

    Belinda, this is really fabulous…I can’t wait for Gretchen to return either…can’t wait to hear her wonderful stories. I so hope you will tell them to us.

  10. Loving all the bright colors of the fabric. Looks so lovely.

  11. Angela Sturm

    Ich liebe die bunten Kaffe Fassett Stoffe auch so sehr. Und Dein Buch sieht einfach toll und wirklich zum Verlieben aus !!! Ich wünsche Gretchen eine schöne Reise !

  12. Audrey Meijs

    Gorgeous!

  13. How fortunate you are to have such lovely fabrics to work with. You have put everything together so nicely.

    I hope Gretchen’s journey is a safe one.

  14. Einfach supercool, liebe Belinda, da kann der Zwerg von “Die fabelhafte Welt der Amelie” ja nur vor Neid erblassen, superIdee, und was soll ich sagen:
    Gute Reise!

  15. Einfach wunderschon, diese Farben!!!

  16. Oh my, a wonderful colour explosion!

  17. Lucky Gretchen… travelling the world surrounded by such wonderful fabrics!!! She is in fabric heaven too!
    Loving all these beautiful fabrics and cannot wait until I get a visit from Miss Gretchen. She can have a nice rest at our farm and then continue on her journey (if only she could talk).

  18. This work is gob-smackingly amazing! I looove it!

  19. Oooh….I can’t wait to work in your book Belinda! Those KF fabrics have me drooling! I saw Jacky yesterday and smiled at the lovely Goth KF doll you sent her.

    Your fabric art rocks!!

  20. P.S Miss Gretchen will be quite at home in my house. Surrounded by art dolls!

  21. Belinda, I just love your artwork! Would you have time for a little fabric swap, maybe dolls? Really love your abstract gothic dolls. E-mail me.
    Bye, Sue

  22. Ohhhhhh que purrdy! I love love your creations!

  23. This is really exciting. It’s really a great idea for Gretchen to travel out and meet the other great artist. It’s really fun.

  24. just saw the icicles for the first time. They are amzing, everyon turns out unique. You do lovely detailed work. Thanks for the photo images
    Pat

  25. kaffee rules the fabric kingdom in my book too….
    everything is looking so beatufiul here i don’t know where to begin belinda!
    maybe i will see them in person this summer when we visit germany?

  26. Very colorful indeed. I love texture and fabric and 3D too. When I paint, there has to be something to touch, something that sticks out, something that makes people as ‘what is that?’.

  27. Your work with these fabrics look so yummy. Great eye candy!

Leave a Reply

