Of Goth Dolls and Kaffe Fassett

bels_goth_dolls.jpg

The Goths are coming!!!! To be precise, the East and West Goths. My very late night fabric creations going abstract now! How I got to Hundertwasser, I’ll share later. hehe But I have always loved his art and his painting “The End of the Greeks – The East and West Goths” is sooo cool. OK, I made these two late last night, early this morning actually. And when going to bed I thought maybe I call them Heidi & Peter. Then I took pics this morning and Romeo & Juliet popped into my head. I just don’t know what to call them!? So here’s my little challenge for you: Name those dolls!! If you can come up with something better, drop me a comment. If it’s the right thing, I will make you a new Goth Doll. No, these are not available, they are Luxembourg’s newest citizens. I love being silly!

100wasser-ost-westgoten.jpg

Die Goten kommen!!!! Um genau zu sein, die Ost- und Westgoten. Meine Stoffwerke zu gaaanz später Abendstund, nun auch abstrakt! Wie ich auf Hundertwasser gekommen bin, zeig ich später. hehe Aber ich hab schon immer seine Kunst geliebt und sein Gemälde “Das Ende der Griechen – Die Ost- und Westgoten” ist sowas von cool. OK, hab also diese beiden spät letzte Nacht gemacht, genauer gesagt heute früh. Und als ich in’s Bett ging dachte ich, ich nenn sie Heidi & Peter. Heute früh hab ich also die Fotos gemacht und Romeo & Julia war plötzlich in meinem Kopf. Ich hab keine Ahnung, wie ich sie nennen soll!? Hier ist also meine kleine Herausforderung: Gib den Puppen einen Namen!! Wenn Du mit etwas Besserem aufwarten kannst, schreib einen Kommentar. Wenn es passt, werde ich der Person ein neues Gotenpüppchenach machen und eigene Vorlieben berücksichtigen. Nö, diese Beiden sind nicht zu haben, die sind nun Luxemburg’s neueste Bürger. Ich das herrlich, albern zu sein!

kfnew6pi.jpg kfnewrbt.jpg kfgarcwa.jpg kfnew7ng.jpg

And I just heART Kaffe Fassett!! I think his fabrics are just perfect for the Goth Dolls. Look at his fabrics below, who can resist them?! Just a year ago I didn’t even know his name but already had lots of his fabrics in my stash. It was my friend Jacky from Australia who pointed me to him!!

gp65_green.jpg kfgar2pm.jpg kfpuffmu.jpg

Und ich liebe Kaffe Fassett!! Seine Stoffen passen doch bestens zu den Goth Dolls. Schau Dir nur unten seine Stoffe an, wer kann da widerstehen. Vor gut einem Jahr kannte ich noch nicht einmal seinen Namen, hatte aber schon viele Stoffe von ihm in meiner Sammlung. Die liebe Jacky aus Australien hat mich auf ihn gebracht!!

kfpotnlp.jpg gp81-jewwl.jpg gp80-cream.jpg

gorgeous

kfgar8hu.jpg kflor7vi.jpg kfauridn.jpg

wunderschön

mosaicsbookcover-kaffee.jpg mosaic6-300w.jpg

And of course he does needlepoint, knit and masaics … I have 2 of his books, the first one I bought was “Mosaics – Inspiration and original projects for Interior and Exteriors“. Just phantastic!!! And although I don’t knit, I did buy “Kaffe Fassett’s Pattern Library” which I just look to page through, sooo yummy. I don’t quilt, so I just page through his books (now even here in Luxembourg’s Bastelkiste). I was considering taking a workshop with him in Spring in Germany, but since it was so quilty, I decided to buy his DVD “Kaffe’s Colour Quest” instead haha It’s not cheap, but so yummy, low budget production, but it’s wonderful to see Vietnam and India through his eyes and of course his explanations. See how he thinks. I enjoy viewing it.

kaffedvd400.jpg

Und natürlich strickt der gute Mann, macht Mosaike und Gobelinstickerei … Ich habe 2 seiner Bücher. Das erste, das ich mir kaufte, war “Mosaik” (hab allerdings die engl. Ausgabe, Taschenbuch ist günstiger und hat ein anderen Deckel, s. oben). Nur genial!!! Und obwohl ich nicht stricke, hab ich mir “Kaffe Fassett’s Pattern Library” gekauft, dass ich einfach nur gerne anschaue und bewundere. Seine Quiltbücher sind auch toll, aber da ich nicht quilte, blätter ich dort gerne durch (nun auch in Luxemburg’s Bastelkiste). Im Herbst hatte ich mir überlegt, einen Workshop mit ihm in Deutschland zu machen, aber es war einfach zu quiltig. Deshalb hab ich mir stattdessen seine DVD “Kaffe’s Colour Quest” zugelegt. haha Nicht günstig, aber soooo lecker, eine low-budget production. Aber es herrlich Vietnam und Indien durch seine Augen zu sehen und natürlich seine Erläuterungen. Zu sehen, wie er denkt. Schau ich mir gerne an.

kfredchair-250.jpg

29 responses to “Of Goth Dolls and Kaffe Fassett

  1. Du kommst immer auf Ideen. Klasse! Wie wäre’s mit Ernie und Berta? Die Stoffe gefallen mir auch.

  2. Zu den beiden fällt mir so spontan ein:
    Runa und Raven
    Und die Stoffe von Fasset, das ist schon ein Hauch von Frühling!
    LG
    Waltraud

  3. Be still my Kaffe Fasset loving heart!! What a great post.. And I ADORE your goth dolls. You keep coming up with so many great ideas my friend!! Jacky introduced me to Kaffe Fassett too! What about the names Kaffe and Fassett for your dolls? *grin*

  4. Altzie (read: alternative personality)
    and
    Wurlitz (read: Wurlitzer piano… full of sound and hidden fury)

  5. I’d name them Clementine and Clarence.

    Such a magnificent color-packed post!

  6. Great dolls! Love the brilliant colors and patterns… have known Kaffe’s name as I’m a knitter and his knits are beyond complex and beautiful… glad to know he’s designing fabrics in his signature “brightness”! Thanks for sharing… as for name? Donna & Dilbert! All my best…

  7. I first heard about Kaffe Fassett when I watched his show on Public Television in America in the early 90s, I think. I was absolutely mesmerized by that show and starting looking at objects and colour in a totally different way.

    Those goth dolls look like so much fun that I am going to have to try one myself, although I’m still trying to perfect my Icicle Dolls.

  8. Don’t ask me why but “Gretchen and Al” popped into my head immediately! Your names are fun too! I must say abstract painting is not my cup of tea BUT these B are amazing! I think the fabrics soften the edges of the abstractness somehow and that is VERY very pleasing; bet they are super fun to hold!!! Thank you for another peek into your colorful world!!! Your newest Luxembourg citizens must be the talk of the town hahaa!

  9. I saw him as Harold–so she would be Mod! (Maude) These are too awesome for words! Thanks for sharing!
    Bliss Happens!
    brenda bliss

  10. über die namen muss ich noch mal nachdenken. spotan fähllt mir gar nix ein.😦
    schön sind deine hundertwasser gotin geworden.
    hundertwasser mag ich auch sehr gerne leiden. übrigens,von opal gab es schon mal eine edition hundertwasser socken wolle. fand ich nicht so prickelnd und schwein teurer.🙂
    die stoffe sind naturlich ein traum. damit kann man wirklich schöne sachen zaubern.

  11. Hmm, spontan fällt mir als Namen nur ein “Nasi und Nosi”, weil die langgezogenen Nasen in den Focus fallen, nicht gerade kreativ meine Idee, ich weiß, aber eigentlich wollte ich auch nur schreiben, wie cool die beiden sind, grandios, so abstrakt!

  12. Too much fun, I am thinking Bonnie and Clyde, they are looking like gansters to me, up to no good with all that color going on.

    I love that chair and it’s color.

  13. Hundertwasser…whn ganz in der Nähe eines seiner kreierten Häuser bei Stuttgart…liebe es mit seinen Zwiebeltürmen…und zu Fassett braucht man ja nichts zu sagen…

  14. Love the dolls
    They are Freidrich ( Hundertwasser’s Christian name) and Loretta. Oh here is a link to some toilet’s Hundertwasser designed in new Zealand- have been there and they are seriously the coolest loos I have ever seen- nothing is level and it is so organice

  15. Belinda they are THE BEST !!!! There must be some funny folk in Luxembourg these days….
    I love Dots suggestion…. Kaffe and Fassett, veerryyy cute.
    I’m going for Frederick and Rita !

  16. Belinda,

    I love the dolls! How about Frida and Diego? They remind me of Frida Kahlo’s art.

  17. Well the names that popped into my head were Bonnie and Clyde and Have no idea why!!!!

    Great Dolls Belinda

  18. Glad I found your blog!
    be well!
    Have a nice sunday

  19. Dear Belinda,

    please go on being silly, you are gorgeous!

    When i first saw the dolls i thought they could be Harry and Sally.
    But then i reminded your theme and could see that this couple was named Mrs. East Goth and Mr. West Goth.

    But then i recognized that they are Luxemburg inhabitants and very close to you – so i am sure that they complete your own familiy: *tadaa*: proudly presenting Madame and Monsieur Bel and Nook Schneider.

    Have a nice day

    Endlosfaden

  20. Aaaaah, ich liebe Kaffe Fassetts Stricksachen und war ca. zehn Jahre lang auf der Suche nach einem seiner Bücher, bis ich es endlich in Deutschland bestellen konnte … Der hat einfach ein fantastisches Farbgefühl und wirkt richtig ansteckend!

  21. I love..love..love these dolls. I must say I liked the idea of Heidi and Peter. I’m one for the first thought that comes to mind. Here’s another couple of names -Francesca and Salvador, they can be sort of Dali -esque. These are wonderful!

  22. also für mich heissen sie Eva & Adam… eben weil sie (d)eine tolle Schöpfung sind!

  23. Mich haben die beiden TOTAL an das chinesische Mädchen Mulan und den jungen Hauptmann Shang erinnert, in den sich Mulan verliebt. Sind jetzt keine super toll kreativen Namen und vielleicht habe ich einfach zu viel Disney Filme geschaut, aber du könntest wirklich Mulan als Bildvorlage für deine Kreation verwendet haben. :o)
    Deswegen mein Vorschlag: Mulan & Shang.

  24. The dolls look so fascinating.
    Love the fabric that you choose here and put them into the doll.
    Thanks for sharing them with us.

    The name come across my mind is ~ Deli and Sassy

  25. I love the names you already picked but thought I would give it a try. I tried to think a great lovers and come up with Hepburn and Tracy. I love love love your dolls. I also love the fabrics. You always have so much fun creating. I love your free spirit.
    kathy mc

  26. Love those goth dolls! They almost look like African tribal masks to me. Thanks for all the bright colors in this post — it’s such a cold white day here, but those colors are generating their own heat!

  27. Liebe Belinda, schon wieder eine Leidenschaft, die wir teilen! Ich bin begeistert von Kaffe Fassett seit sehr langer Zeit, habe bei ihm persönlich schon Workshop mitgemacht, nach seiner Art (mit Wolle zu malen) gestrickt, gequiltet und angeblich entdeckt er gerade den Filz für sich! Bei http://www.wolleunddesign.de kannst du schnell mal schauen, es gibt dieses Jahr herrlichen Strickworkshop mit ihm und Brandon (super lustig) am Chiemsee, mußt aber schnell sein, und :
    die Stoffe möcht ich alle haben (hab auch schon einige…
    herzlich, Marion

  28. I had a book from the library about Hundertwasser: I am a fan! His architecture is spectaculair. So I look forward to your post!
    Your new dolls: well I don’t know: it’s too abstract for me, but they are look great and are inspiring: love the fabrics/colours.

Leave a Reply

