Ordinary miracle today

pinkchocolateellebistro.jpg

Today is December 6, St. Nicholas Day. Check out more Santa posts here. I wish I could offer you some homemade biscuits (can you smell them??) and offer you a glass of Glühwein (mulled cider) or just a hot chocolate! *** Heute ist der 6. Dezember, Nikolaustag. Mehr Nikolaus-Beiträge gibts hier. Gerne würde ich Dir einige selbstgebackene Plätzchen anbieten (kannst Du sie riechen??) und Dir ein Glas Glühwein oder eine heiße Schokolade anbieten!

santa-mucha-icicledolls.jpg

Since it’s a tradition for St. Nicholas to bring gifts today, I made some Santa and Mucha Icicle Dolls. If you would like to receive Mademoiselle Rouge or the Snow Queen , just leave a comment. The Santa Icicles will be offered to some participants of the Santa Claus Fest. Will draw the names tomorrow. *** Da es Tradition ist, dass der Nikolaus Geschenke bringt, hab ich einige Santa und Mucha Icicle Dolls gemacht. Wenn Du Mademoiselle Rouge oder die Schneekönigin haben möchtest, schreib einfach einen Kommentar. Die Santa Icicles werden an einige Teilnehmer des Santa Claus Fest vergebe. Werde die Namen morgen ziehen.

EDIT: THANK YOU ALL so much for your kind comments!! Congratulations to Bahvna, Barbara, Barbara (D), Dotee, enjoy and Sandra. I haved added 2 original blue icicle dolls and will contact you for mailing addresses. ‘Tis the season of giving …

weihnachtsplaetzchenessenundtrinken.jpg

In Germany it’s a tradition that St. Nicholas brings nuts, fruits, biscuits and chocolates to all the children that have been good. Starting Dec. 1 in anticipation, children (small and big!) put their shoes in front of the door at night time and the next morning they find a treat in it. Read more about world wide St. Nicholas traditions here. In Luxembourg for example, St. Nicholas is the big day for gifts for children and not Christmas Eve. *** In Deutschland ist es Tradition, dass der Nikolaus Nüsse, Früchte, Kekse und Schokolade den Kindern bringt, die brav waren. In einigen Regionen wird ab dem 1. Dezember in freudiger Erwartung abends der Schuh vor die Tür gestellt und am nächsten Morgen gibt’s darin eine Überraschung. Hier kannst Du mehr über weltweite Nikolaustraditionen nachlesen. In Luxemburg z.B. ist der Nikolaustag wichtiger als Weihnachten, was Geschenke betrifft.

spicysantabel.jpgelefantadventskranzbel.jpgelefantadventskranzbel2.jpg

Here is a bit of my Christmas deco at home showing my spicy Santa cabinet. Although the tree is baroque gothic crossover, I couldn’t resist to use this wooden elephant I found last month at Casa to carry my advent wreath.

3marzipannikolaeuse.jpg

Although a classic from Austria, this is a family favorite from my eldest sister Birgit:
Bi’s delicious Klosterkipferl (convent crescents)
300 g butterklosterkipferl1.jpg
420 g flour
120 g finely chopped dark chocolate
180 g ground hazelnuts
3 pinch vanilla sugar
90 g cast sugar
3 egg yolks
Directions: Mix butter and flour. Add chocolate and hazelnuts. Add remaining ingredients and make a dough. Form into half moons. Bake at 200°C/390°F for 10-15 minutes.
Melt 200 g plain chocolate and dip in melted chocolate.

Auch wenn’s ein österreichischer Klassiker ist, ein Lieblingsrezept der Familie von meiner ältesten Schwester Birgit:klosterkipferl11.jpg
Bi’s köstliche Klosterkipferl
300 g Butter

420 g Mehl
120 g geraspelte Blockschokolade

180 g gemahlene Haselnüsse
3 Msp Vanillezucker
90 g Puderzucker
3 Eigelb

Zubereitung: Butter mit Mehl mischen. Blockschokolade und Haselnüsse zugeben. Restliche Zutaten zugeben und zu einem Teig verkneten. Bei 200° 10-15 Minuten backen.
200 g Schokolade schmelzen und die Klosterkipferl in die Schokolade tunken.

Wishing you a wonderful St. Nicholas Day today!

Wünsche Dir heute einen wunderschönen Nikolaustag!

Sarah McLachlan – Ordinary Miracle

“Ordinary Miracle”
Written by David Stewart and Glen Ballard

It’s not that unusual when everything is beautiful
It’s just another ordinary miracle today

The sky knows when it’s time to snow
You don’t need to teach a seed to grow
It’s just another ordinary miracle today

Life is like a gift they say
Wrapped up for you everyday
Open up and find a way
To give some of your own

Isn’t it remarkable’
Like every time a raindrop falls
It’s just another ordinary miracle today

Birds in winter have their fling
And always make it home by spring
It’s just another ordinary miracle today

When you wake up everyday
Please don’t throw your dreams away
Hold them close to your heart
Cause we are all a part
Of the ordinary miracle

Ordinary miracle
Do you want to see a miracle’

It seems so exceptional
Things just work out after all
It’s just another ordinary miracle today

The sun comes up and shines so bright
It disappears again at night
It’s just another ordinary miracle today

It’s just another ordinary miracle today

65 responses to “Ordinary miracle today

  1. Count me in for the drawin for an original Belinda Icicle!

  2. Happy St. Nicholas Day!!!! How perfectly lovely and generous of you Belinda! Some lucky someone will get quite a special prize! All of your St. Nicholas excitement is contagious! Lots of Fun Fun Fun!!! ~*~ Patty
    P.S. Sarah McLaughlin is one of my all time favorite songstresses! I can almost smell/taste the Gluhwein! We have snow on the ground here in Virginia, USA. oxo

  3. HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!!
    what an exciting post!

  4. Love your icicle dolls Belinda. Would love to have one of my own…hope I win!
    ~ Iva

  5. What a wonderful seasonal post. Oh MY, I am quite literally DROOLING on my keyboard! (lol)

    Your icicle dolls are so delightful; have really enjoyed browsing through your wonderful blog.

  6. Wow wunderschöne Dolls. Klasse Deko, leckere Plätzchen, ja so lasse ich mir den Tag auch gefallen. Ich wünsche Dir einen wunderschönen Nikolaus Belinda.

  7. Belinda, ich wünsche Dir einen tollen Nikolaus-Tag, auf Deinem Blog riecht es ja förmlich nach Gewürzen, Plätzchen, Kakao und Glühwein – und dazu noch die wunderhübschen Dolls, die Dir wieder mal sowas von genial gut gelungen sind (passen aber auch prima in die Weihnachtszeit !) – ein perfektes Paket… XOX

  8. Wishing you a wonderful day today. Have fun.

  9. Belinda, da hast Du ja tolle Püppchen gemacht. Mmmmmh und dann der Keksduft, ich nehme mir gerne einen😉 Wegen des Glühweins schaue ich dann gegen Abend noch einmal vorbei😉 Ich wünsche Dir einen schönen Nikolaustag.

  10. Hi Belinda, great dolls you made, I’m glad you will share this with us!

  11. Ich bin auch ein Fan deiner Dolls und kann mir diese Chance deshalb nicht entgehen lassen. Da ich schon die 43 Mio nicht gewonnen habe, habe ich vielleicht bei Dir Glück😉

    Hab einen schönen Nikolaustag und danke auch für die schöne Idee dazu!

    Lieben Gruss,

    Britta

  12. oh lecker sieht das aus bei dir hier… würde am liebsten in den bildschirm grapschen nach einem klosterkipferl!
    und gerne würde ich natürlich ein nikolauspüppchen gewinnen:))
    nachher werde ich mal nach münchen reinfahren auf den tollwood-markt, dürfte heute nicht so voll sein… vielleicht finde ich noch was reizvolles oder kann wenigstens ein paar fotos machen… (ich werde münchen von dir grüßen;)
    schönen nikolaustag noch! johanna

  13. wow! these dolls are great! Thanks for sharing your wonderful art with us!

  14. Hmmmmmm…. yes, I can smell it….
    Thanks for the receipt!

  15. Those icicle dolls look fantastic! O and those biscuits, tried reaching into my computer scren to get at one but it didn’t work! LOL! Have to content myself with trying the recipe out tonight.
    Have a good St Nicholas day🙂
    Donna xx

  16. yummy, yummy, wer in diesen tagen auf das hüftgold verzichtet ist selbst schuld. wünsche dir eine schöne adventszeit

  17. YUM! Love the elephant and the icicle dolls are super!! Enjoy the Day!
    Connie

  18. Ich wuensche dir einen schoenen Nikolaustag. Hast du denn was im Schuh gehabt?
    Dein Beitrag ist toll und wenn ich die gebackenen Leckerli’s sehe kommen Erinnerungen an meine Kindheit zurueck.
    Danke Belinda.

  19. What a wonderful post!The sweets look all so pretty and yummy. Love the icicle dolls you made and thanks for the receipe🙂

  20. was für eine wundervolle Nikolausseite,
    der Duft durchzieht den ganzen Raum und erst die tollen Nicodolls,
    Dir auch einen schönen Tag und vielen Dank
    ute

  21. Hallo Belinda,
    ich wünsche dir auch einen schönen Nikolaustag mit vielen Überraschungen. Das ist eine tolle Idee und ich würde mich natürlich auch sehr über so ein Mucha-Püppchen freuen!

  22. Wasfür ein beitrag!
    Wünsche dir einen wunderschönen Nikolaustag!

  23. Belinda thanks so much for sharing all your Christmas spirit…. you are making me wish I was over in the snow, all rugged up and warming myself with mulled wine and those gorgeous biscuits!!
    Your Icicles and Santas are gorgeous…very festive.
    Thanks for sharing your Christmas Cheer.

  24. Belinda …. was für ein toller Beitrag … aber das war ja irgendwie zu erwarten🙂
    Das Rezept liest sich toll und da ich nocht nicht fertig bin mit Plätzchen backen, habe ich’s mir sofort kopiert – DANKE! Das Foto der heißen Schokolade ist toll … hast du das aufgenommen????
    Und die Püppchen sind natürlich der Hammer … für einen Stoff-Deppen wie mich sowieso … und “die Schneekönigin” ist mein absolutes Lieblingsmärchen –> ja, ich würde mich natürlich sehr darüber freuen (auch natürlich über jede andere!)
    Ich glaube, ich geh’ gleich in mein Kämmerlein und werde noch einen zweiten Beitrag vorbereiten … meiner kommt mir doch jetzt ein wenig kümmerlich vor.
    Wünsche dir einen schönen Nikolaustag!
    Ilonka

  25. Belinde , I wish you a special and wonderful day !
    It looks all great !
    Oh…. and your icicles are yummy .
    Love Rini

  26. Happy St. Nicholas Day Belinda! What a visual feast…. Thanks for the recipe … might just have to make the Convent Crescents… yummmmmm Just adore Sarah McLachlan too! xo

  27. Liebe Belinda,
    na, dann wünsch ich dir einen ganz tollen Nikolaustag in Luxembourg! Er soll dir viele schöne Geschenke bringen, keine Rute und viel Humor! Ich versuch mich grade in den Beiträgen für das Santa Claus Fest, habe es nicht geschafft, das Bild der Aktion zum Anklicken auf meinen blog zu schalten, hab einfach noch zu wenig blog-Erfahrung (und meine kiddies in Schule und Arbeit…), Beiträge kannst du ja mal gucken….

  28. thatcharlottekemsley

    Happy St Niklas Day! I wish I could nip across for a little glass of glogg (sorry, no umlaut on my keyboard!) and a few nibbles – all looks delicious! I loved reading of your traditions:-) Do the children get a day off today? Hope you got some nice presents!

    Best wishes, Charlotte K.

  29. Einen schönen Tag, Belinda!
    Und danke schön für die tolle Idee
    und Deinen wunderschönen Beitrag!

  30. Have a wonderful day Belinda you and yours.
    I shall be in Cologne from Monday myself for 5 days so will sample some of these wonderful goodies I am sure.
    Love Cynthia x

  31. thanks for your kind words! thanks to all those that made this ”virtual” spot, real!

  32. belinda deine weihnachtlichen puppen sind in jeder variante schööööööööööööön!

    und das rezept – hmmmmmmmmmm lecker, kann ich da nur sagen!!!

    wünsche dir einen wunderschönen nikoluastag mit allem frum & dran!

  33. i am SO in the mood now – do you have a glu wein recipe to go with those lovely biscuts?
    it is an amazing mood you present here.
    THANKS!

  34. Belinda, today’s celebration is wonderful and thank you so much for sharing this with all of us. The icicle dolls are just the best!

  35. Beautiful icicle dolls! And thanks for sharing your traditions. It’s so interesting for me to read about Christmases abroad.

  36. Those images of the sweets speak volumns, makes me so hungry. The icicles are wonderful and very creative.

  37. Beautiful post today. So colourful and festive and of course, love, love, love the icicle dolls.

  38. Es ist só eine tolle Idee diese Santa-blog! Natürlich habe auch ich etwas gepostet! Deine Icicle-dolls sind só toll!!! Und auch noch ein Santa-doll dabei! SUPER!!! Und dein Rezept … mahl probieren!

  39. Belinda – what an inspiring holiday post! Your work is always beautiful. And I love the icicle dolls – please include me in the drawing!

  40. The Christmas icicle dolls are beautiful, and the cookies look wonderful! I make a cookie similar to your sister’s only with pecans instead of hazelnuts, and dusted with powdered sugar – they are melt-in-your-mouth good! Thanks for the Santa Claus Fest!
    Hugs, Kat🙂

  41. I feel quite hungry looking at all that wonderful fare. Hope you enjoy the rest of te day – please put my name down – they’re gorgeous.

  42. Bel,
    Thanks for thinking up such beautiousness(my own word!LOL) This is way too much fun. Love it. You put me on to Sarah last year and can I just tell you, my tradition now is to listen to Christmas music all year long!!LOL . My family get sick of it… She is one of my new favourite artists. I can’t wait to get to London and get some decent bucks fizz which we usually have on Christmas morning; and what would Xmas be without mince pies?? They don’t really have them here and we really miss all those little traditions associated with an English Christmas, so I am bringing Christmas back with me to the US this year… can’t wait.

  43. Look at all that yummy food Belinda!!!

    orgeous icicle Dolls…count me for the draw.🙂

  44. Wahnsinn deine Zimtsterne sehen ja aus wie gemalt!

  45. Happy Saint Nicholas day, your home looks very festive, I love your elephant and his wreath🙂

  46. Wow! Words can’t express how much fun I’m having in the Santa fest! Thank you, thank you, for doing this! Your site is a feast for the eyes! This is so much more than I expected. I’ve gathered my kids around the computer and we’re going from site to site. And yes, please count me in for the drawing! I love this!

  47. noch schnell ich ich ich, bevor nikolaus vorbei ist! ein foto schöner als das andere. und ich liebe ja auch sarah mclachlan. werde noch etwas hier verweilen …

  48. Hey Süße!!!!! Unser Tag/Morgen war ein HIT!!!!! Die Schoki kam so dermaßen GUT an…hahaha….einfach nur GEIL! Oh…wenn ich hier die Foto´s von Bi´s keksen sehe…YUM…da läuft mir das Wasser im Mund zusammen. Hoffe du hattest auch einen schönen Nikolaus!
    xox

  49. Happy St. Nicholas Day Belinda! You’ve really helped get me into the holiday mood lately!!!

  50. Happy St Nics Day to you too.Beautiful Icicles to celebrate.

    Dawnie xxx

  51. SUPER WOWY WOWS!!!
    Die Internetseite und Kunstschätze!!! Mein lieber Belinda, Ich moechte mich bei Ihnen dafuer bedanken, das Besuchen. WUNDERBAR Sinter Klaas Fest!!! Danke schoen!

    Eine Menge Umarmungen…

    Fröhliche Weihnachten, Lyndy

    P.S. If I am a lucky winner of one of your beautiful icicles artwork I would add your BEAUTIFUL ‘icicle’ with a link back to you on my Blogsite… I love linking, it’s great PR…

  52. Hallo Belinda!

    Seit Wochen schon bewundere ich deine Püppchen und es kribbelt mich in den Fingern, sie auszuprobieren! Leider sind hier alle krank in der Familie und selbst schnupfe auch rum, so dass ich abends nur müde ins Bett falle. Hoffentlich finde ich bald mal Zeit zu nähen🙂 Da ich ein ganz großer Mucha Fan bin, würde ich mich wahnsinnig freuen, eine deiner Püppchen zu gewinnen – außerdem wäre ich glaube ich auch ganz schön stolz, ein “Original” von dir zu haben😉 Also drück ich mir mal jetzt selbst die Daumen. Der Gewinner ist auf jeden Fall zu beneiden!
    Gruß Christina

  53. Deine Dolls sind alle absolut super. Diese Püppchen sind ja auf vielen Blogs zu sehen, alle einfach nur schön. Leider habe ich für solche Sachen zwei linke Hände.
    Ich wünsche dir jedenfalls eine besinnliche und kreative Vorweihnachtszeit.

  54. Hello Belinda, thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe, art and your wonderful holiday decor. I love reading how other countries celebrate their holidays and this post is a delight to see.

    I hope I’m not to late for a chance to win one of your marvelous icicles.

    Have a wonderful holiday season!

    Mary-Beth

  55. Hi Belinda
    Thanks for your kind comments on my blog!!!
    Your site is wonderful!
    I’ll visit again soon!!!
    Have a wonderful day!
    Hugs
    Marcela

  56. was für eine schöne Seite ….bin fasziniert…liebe Grüße Barbara

  57. The ice cicle dolls are Fabulous!
    Happy Holidays!
    Sandra Evertson

  58. Forgot to mention, long time fan of your beautiful work! 🙂
    Sandra Evertson

  59. What a beautiful post! Amazing gifties, decorations, recipe, stories, I loved it all!

  60. Me me me Belinda! I will enter to win your icicle dollie! They are alllll perfectly festive! How fun!
    :0) Hugs,Patti
    Your cookies look totally YUMMY too thanks for the recipe!

  61. Looks like your place is the place to be at Christmas. The cider sounds nice.

    http://organizeddoodles.blogspot.com/

  62. anindiansummer

    Happy St. Nicholas Day, Bel! Mmm…Home made biscuits and hot chocolate sounds good!🙂

    Bhavna

  63. What a beautiful and inspiring post Belinda! You definitely got me into the Christmas spirit! Love your Christmas icicles and your home looks beautifull decorated. Salivating over the foodie photo’s too🙂
    I made a Christmas icicle today after reading this wonderful post. Good luck to everyone in the draw🙂

  64. I am so tickled! that I found your blog through Michelle Ward’s street team, and LOOK at those icicle dolls! So gorgeous! And thank you for sharing recipes and instructions with us. I have printed out templates, and I’m going to use them!
    Chris

  65. hallo belinda,

    vielen lieben dank für den roten santa-eiszapfen!!! die post war super schnell – ich hatte ihn gestern im briefkasten!!!
    in natura ist das einfach ein gaaanz tolles prachtstück!!! und deine tollen briefmarken habe ich auch gleich ausgeschnitten und aufgehoben…😉

    liebe adventsgrüße
    katrin

Leave a Reply

