GPP12: Crush on you

indianstylebel.jpg

The new GPP crusade is Crush on you. My love and not only crush on music is known and noticeable. Michelle’s timing is too funny because only the other day I realized that I seem to have a thing for elephants which I hadn’t realized yet (proof below). But to put it into the right perspective, the crush is actually on Indian style and India of course which I’ve had since childhood. I had fun going through my appartment taking pictures. The goddess Deeplakshmi (above) graces my bedroom. One big passion are ornaments, so here’s my living room carpet with patterend tiles from the Taj Mahal, a silk curtain, bed cover and a vintage Indian blanket. Just love their embroideries!!!! *** Die neue GPP crusade ist Crush on you (in dich verknallt). Meine Liebe und nicht nur Verknalltsein für Musik ist bekannt und bemerkbar. Michelle’s timing ist schon lustig, da mir vor ein paar Tagen auffiel, dass ich wohl Elefanten mag, was mir noch gar nicht bewußt war (s. unten). Aber eigentlich dreht es sich hier um den indischen Stil und natürlich Indien, was mir schon seit der Kindheit gefällt. Es hat mir Spass gemacht durch meine Wohnung zu gehen und Bilder zu knipsen. Die Göttin Deeplakshmi (oben) verschönert mein Schlafzimmer. Eine große Leidenschaft sind Ornamente, und als erstes meinen Wohnzimmerteppich mit den Kachelmustern vom Taj Mahal, ein Seidenvorhang, Bettdecke und eine alte indische Decke. Steh einfach auf diese Stickereien!!!!

belornamentsindia.jpg

belvintageindianblanket.jpg

While I’m at ornaments, here are my recently handcarved wooden stamps for hand block printing acquired in London again. And larger (wooden) sari stamps I’ve had for some years. *** Wenn ich schon bei Ornamenten bin, dürfen meine kürzlich in London erstandenen geschnitzten Holzstempel nicht fehlen. Die (hölzernen) Saristempel hab ich schon seit ein paar Jahren.

belwoodenstamps.jpg

These small brass elephants are so small yet have so much detail. Although I’m no Hindu, I just enjoy this colorful Ganesha (elephant god). Diese kleinen Messingelefanten sind so klein und haben doch so viele Details. Obwohl ich kein Hindu bin, find ich den bunten Ganesha (Elefantengott) einfach zu schön! An den Elefantenhaken hängen Ketten, auch wenn ich keine trage, denn die Perlen benutze ich gerne zum Sticken.

elephants1bel.jpgelephants2bel.jpg

I call this my treasure chest since I keep my Indian knicknack there: temporary tattoos from the India store, Bells, Jewelry, mehndi templates and also some henna paste, a vintage indian cow decoration … *** Dies nenne ich meine Schatzkiste, da ich dort meinen indischen Krimskrams aufgewahre wie temp. Tattoos aus dem Indialaden, Glöckchen, Schmuck, Mehndischablonen und Hennapaste, eine alte indische Kuhdekoration …

beltreasurechest.jpg

Love my two tikka boxes which are originally used to store spices. The lid slides open to the side and they are hand carved. Well, I have way too many spices, so my few earring and some vintage bells are stored therein… *** Liebe meine beiden Tikkadosen die eignetlich zum Aufbewahren von Gewürzen sind. Der Deckel schiebt man auf die Seite und sie sind handgeschnitzt. Dafür sind sie mir aber zu schade und deshalb bewahre ich dort meine paar Ohrringe und alte Glöckchen auf …

beltikkaboxes.jpg

And my vintage Indian shelf was already presented in GPP crusade 9. My Ylang-Ylang inscence sticks are also from India. I think this is enough for now… *** Mein altes indisches Regal hab ich ja bereits in GPP Crusade 9 vorgestellt. Meine Ylang-Ylang-Räucherstäbchen sind auch aus Indien. Das reicht jetzt erst mal … 🙂

15 responses to “GPP12: Crush on you

  1. I can see your love of the beauty of India, so colorful, such different designs. All in all very pleasing eye-candy. I like the way you used a golden stamp around your image of the goddess!

  2. belinda – what a fun tour through your collections that reflect your Crush on all things Indian. you will inspire many to investigate more about the style since you have generously shared so much beauty here. the wooden stamps make my heart pound – such stunning patterns!!! so YOU. thanks for joining in the crusade🙂

  3. Wow Belinda…. I too have a collection of elephants something that I have had a crush on since childhood. Looking at your post makes me feel like getting my act into gear and unpacking the boxes still in the garage. Like you I have a collection, but mine relate to Thailand. Just love the wooden stamps! Thanks for a great post!

  4. Such gorgeous beautiful treasures. I can see why you love India and Indian treasures so much. The colours are so vibrant and beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing🙂

  5. The colors of the vintage blankets are so yummy! What cool collections!

  6. What wonderful treasures!!! Love all the beautiful, intricate Indian designs….thanks so much for sharing! What wonderful inspiration for us all.

  7. you struck a chord with me here belinda! i LOVE all things indian as well. you have all the treasures though… swoon!

  8. Alison Griffiths

    What beautiful colours and patterns!! I love the hand carved stamps too.

  9. I loved seeing your collection. Very interesting pieces.

  10. I totally agree Belinda, I love all things Indian, especially their fabrics and jewellery, I also have some of the wooden stamps.
    Ro
    xo

  11. psssssssssssst: did you see the debut of Good Enough?

  12. Great stuff, Belinda! I love your fascination with all things Indian….very cool!

  13. The only thing left for you is an authentic Indian name, therefore I hereby name you “Beli” (sp?) which means “flower” or “jasmine” in Hindu!!

  14. oh me two me two – I have collected elephants since childhood – love Ganesha and all things Indian – yoga, food, design, love your treasure boxes…

    xox – eb.

  15. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

