More Art + Soul

bex-and-traci.jpg

One more Art & Soul Virginia post. The other class I took was Traci Bautista‘s colorful layers.doodles.monoprints. My cute and fun sister Benita loves to scrapbook and photograph, so I knew she’d enjoy her classes and I signed us up both up for the class with techniques from Traci’s book Collage unleashed. At least one class we could play together!! I have never done too much monoprinting and Benita never even worked with acrylics before. We both had a blast! I just enjoy watching other people play around with paints and Traciimgp3303.jpg uses some products that were new to me, so it was great fun to play around with them. Made lots of background papers. A girl next to Benita made 62, don’t know how she did so many though! Benita made the b/w collage in the evening class, and all the doodling exercises were just right up her ally. She made several collages, this one with pictures from her kids is my fave though. The fkaren-kopie.jpgelting classes were fun and so exhausting and I don’t think I would have done the purse class without my sister’s assistance. Thanks love muffin!😉 Hot water and rubbing are key elements in wet felting and I cannot repeat it enough. Yet I am so amazed and excited that so many students finished their purses! Karen finished first with the aqua purse, terrie-and-mom.jpgTerrie just needs to do her handle, way to go. Kathy posted her gorgeous flaming purse on her blog. Joyce hasn’t finished her purse yet, but she posted her beautiful wet felted flower ring on her blog. Enjoyed everyone and I’m so thrilled that so many dare discover wet felting, since it involves physical work and certainly is not for the masses. The houses made for the “doodadvillage kathy1.jpgwere sooo fabulous. Every attendee received a papiermaché house and look what they did with them!! (Me again taking blurry pictures.) Yet my very very favorite was what the artist (don’t know who it was) for house no.1 did! The most amazing and incredible little fairy house and landscape you could think of. What a great time and I look forward to another time…

house-no1.jpg

Noch ein weiterer Art & Soul-Beitrag. Meine andere Klasse war Traci Bautista‘s farbenfrohe Schichten.Gekritzel.Monoprinte. Meine süße und lustige Schwester Benita scrapbookt und fotographiert gerne, deshalb wußte ich, doodad-houses5.jpgdass ihr Traci’s Klassen Spass machen würden. Hab uns also beide für die Klasse mit Techniken aus ihrem Buch Collage unleashed angemeldet. Wenigstens eine Klasse, wo wir zusammen kreativ sein konnten! Ich hab nie viel mit Monoprinting gemacht und Benita sogar noch nie mit Acryl gearbeitet. Somit hatten wir beide einen Riesenspass! Ich seh anderen ja immer gerne dabei zu, wie sie mit Farben arbeiten und Traci benutzt einige Produkte, die mir neu waren. Hab eine Menge Hintergrudoodad-houses4.jpgndpapiere gemacht. Ein Mädel neben Benita machte glatt 62, keine Ahnung, wie sie so viele geschafft hat! Benita hat diese s/w-Collage gemacht und alle die Kritzelei-Ãœbungen in der 2. Klasse waren total ihr Ding. Sie machte mehrere Collage, dieses hier mit Fotos ihrer Kids gefällt mir am besten. Die Filzklassen hatten Spass gemacht, aber ich bin immer total groggy und weiß nicht, wie ich die Taschenklasse ohne die tatkräftige Hilfe meiner Schwester geschafft hätte. Danke doodad-houses3.jpglove muffin! Heißes Wasser und Reiben sind superwichtig im Naßfilzen und ich kann das nie genug wiederholen. Doch bin ich immer noch erstaunt und begeistert, dass so viele ihre Taschen fertig gekriegt haben! Karen war als erste mit ihrer Aqua-Tasche fertig, Terrie fehlte nur noch den Henkel. Kathy hat ihre wunderschöne Flammentasche auf ihrem Blog eingestellt! Joyce hat ihre Tasche zwar noch nicht fertig, aber sie hat ihren wunderschönen gefilzten Blumenring auf ihrem Blog. Hatte Spass mit allen und bin immer wieder froh, dass sich so viele an das Naßfilzen wagen, da es körperliche Arbeit erfordert und nichts für die Massen ist. Die Häuser für das “Dingsbums-Dorf waren alle so klasse. Die Teilnehmer hatten vorab doodad-houses2.jpgein Papiermachéhaus erhalten und schau nur, was sie daraus gemacht haben!! (Ich mach mal wieder unscharfe Fotos.) Doch mein allerallerliebstes war das Haus Nr.1! Die Künstlerin (Name unbekannt) hat das allerschönste kleine Feenhaus mit Landschaft gezaubert. Und soo viel Details gemacht, unglaublich. Tolle Zeit, die im Nu verstrichen ist und freu mich schon auf ein nächstes Mal…

13 responses to “More Art + Soul

  1. Thanks for sharing your wonderful stories, descriptions and photos! This must’ve been SO much fun!! All very inspiring to me!

    – vicki xo

  2. I know what you mean….I purchased roving about a month ago and rubbed for over and hour until I couldn’t take it anymore! Maybe one day I will try it again…these purses look amazing!

  3. Sounds like you had a fabulous time Belinda! One day I hope to attend one of these fantastic events🙂

  4. We have Traci, Jane Wynn and Nina Bagley and Misty Mawn coming to aus in early 2008. Cant wait :))

  5. I loved your class Belinda. And your sister was a real sweetheart to help you out. I enjoyed meeting both of you. Thanks again for a great time. I love my purse and my ring.
    ~k~

  6. Hi Belinda, glad you enjoyed your classes. I hope to do a class wih Traci when she comes to Oz next year.

  7. danke für die wunderschöne bilder🙂
    diese häuser sind wirklich klasse.

    Liebe Grüße und ein schönen WE
    Sanja

  8. Hey Looove Muffin! lol…Gosh…I can’t believe you put that picture of me online!!! What were you thinking? I never did find out what house actually won…but the fairy house was definitely my fave, too! Thanks again for taking me …I had a blast!
    Labba… THE “Water Goddess” :o)

  9. Sounds really great, must have be much fun.😉

  10. aha .. bin endlich mal wieder dazu gekommen, zu schauen was du so alles getrieben hast …

    Schön .. so einen kleinen Einblick in dein Leben zu bekommen … und von wegen unscharft .. vielleicht brauchst du ja eine Brille😉

  11. Hi Belinda! I sat across from you in Traci’s class and just saw your Gothic arch book on Art-e-zine which was gorgeous! Good to see you again. Check out my picture trail (http://www.picturetrail.com/christygrantva) if you want for some other pictures of ARt & Soul. I think I have one of you in it.

  12. Your sister is just adorable! How great that she got to be there with you🙂

  13. Hi there folks!

    I like this foru msooo much, thanks for the creators.

Leave a Reply

