Cheap Tricks

cheap-tricks-blog.jpg

What does this music girl think of when she hears/reads cheap tricks, which is GPP crusade 8? The song below comes to my mind first, just cannot help it.🙂 Well, just went thru the cheap tricks already posted from the fellow crusaders and I’m really not alone out there. My first cheap trick is to use printed text paper when making my cheap-trick-acrylic-papers-detai-blogl.jpgacrylic papers. I have a lot of bookpage blocks from discarded altered books leftover and just love them over plain paper, because the printed text (or whatever else happens to be there) adds great depth and additional texture. Made this spread from scraps and pieces from my drawer (that’s where I keep them). And the fishes happened to be on my table and jumped on the pages. Frida isn’t finished, but for now it’s ok. The second is toothpicks! I always have a box of them on my painting table. Love to use them to pick up glue for heishis, doodads etc. AND I love to use them for painting small dots. And when my fingers are really dirty with paint, I even move stuff around them on my collages. ***** Woran denkt dieses Musikmädel, wenn sie Cheap Tricks liest/hört, das das GPP crusade 8-Thema ist? Zuallererst denke ich an das Lied unten, ktoothpick-still-live.jpgann nix dafür🙂 Hab mich gerade durch die anderen Teilnehmer und deren “billige Tricks” geklickt und ich bin echt nicht alleine. Mein erster billiger Trick ist der, dass ich gedrucktes Papier verwende, wenn ich meine Acrylpapiere mache. Einmal hab ich von meinen entdeckelten altered books viele Buchseiten übrig und der Text und was immer gerade mit drauf ist gibt dem Ganzen einfach mehr Tiefe und zusätzliche Textur. Hab diese Doppelseite mit Schnipseln und Stücken aus meiner Schublade gemacht (dort bewahre ich sie auf). Und die Fische lagen noch zufällig auf meinem Tisch und sind auf die Seiten gesprungen. Frida ist noch nicht fertig, aber für’s erste reicht es erst einmal. Der zweite sind Zahnstocher! Ein Döschen steht immer auf meinem Maltisch. Benutze sie, um Kleber auf meine Heishis oder anderen Krimskrams anzubringen. UND ich mag sie total zum Malen von kleinen Punkten, voll praktisch, oder?! Und wenn meine Finger total schmutzig voller Farbe sind, benutze ich sie auch zum Herumbewegen von Kleinteilen auf meinen Collagen.

Cheap Trick – I want you to want me

10 responses to “Cheap Tricks

  1. Tolle Tricks hast du, das mit den Buchseiten hab ich ja auch, zahnstocher habe ich auch oft hier rumliegen genauso wie Qtips.😉 Ich werde morgen endlich deinen Asia Gotikbogen fertig machen, muss mir nur morgen neue Pappe besorgen.

  2. belinda! glad to have jump in with your cheap tricks. i knew someone eventually would mention the band, of course it would be you! TOOTHPICKS! genius! how duh! i could really use those in my studio, thank for the reminder. and again, thanks for playing.

  3. Great ideas and what a fabulous spread, so much colour and pattern, love it. I’ll be looking through my old pages now. Thanks Belinder.
    Ro
    xo

  4. Hi Belinda! I’m glad to know how you do all those tiny dots! It’s great to see your blog, thank you.
    -Kim

  5. Great papers you have made with your cheap trick. I use toothpicks as well, or wooden skewers, they are a very handy tool. Ux

  6. Great tip…. will definately have some toothpicks on hand from now on.
    Love that Cheap Trick song…. reminds me of the heady days of my early 20″s. Cheap Trick were one of my favourite bands. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

  7. Wie tolles ein Idee mit der Zahnstocher (auch habe ich ein neues Deutsches Wort gelernt!). Dein Bild hat mir sehr gefallt!

  8. Hi Belinda, yes, toothpicks definitely come in handy for all those tiny pieces one needs to attach🙂 beautiful spread you have there!

  9. beauty! and don’t you just love cheap trick? they were the best…

  10. Love your beautiful pages, as always your art just blows me away! Love your toothpick idea….we all have them….and to think they have such fantastic uses!

Leave a Reply

