Michael deMeng

michaeldemeng.jpg

Taking a workshop with Michael deMeng is always cool, fun and just fabulous! What I frida-lightbulb-shrine.jpgreally like about his assemblages is that he turns anything into art in his unique way, from pez candy containers to shoes, light bulbs, matchbox cars … even a seemingly useless polaroid picture can be turned into a piece of rusty art. I sat neinflight.jpgxt to the lovely MizCarla and so enjoyed meeting her at last. It was fun to watch her work on her lightbulb shrine, even 2 fab version. It is always so amazing what everybody comes up with in those workshops. Here’s my Frida Shrine so far, but it’s not done yet. Need mucho more flowers, so until I have them, I added some leaves. Finally I was able to buy some of his stamps made for Stampers Anonymous. Love them! My niece Mikalah enjoyed being my model on her birthday wearing Michael’s new apron! Isn’t she cute? As a special sneak preview we got to look through his soon-to-be-out book “Secrets of rusty things“. It’s not a regular workshop book with instructions, instead he talks in various chapters about mythology. Yet there are muchissimo pictures with a lot of detail and process images to accompany the micalah-demeng-apron.jpgfeature chapter artwork. A feast for the eyes and surely lots of interesting reading. And if you have some extra pennies and love Mexico, you might want to attend deMeng de los Muertos in Oaxaca, Mexico this October. Wouldn’t I love to go there … *** Ein Workshop mit Michael deMeng ist immer cool, lustig und einfach großartig! Was mir an seinen Assemblagen so gut gefällt ist, dass er alles in ein Kunstwerk verwandelt, von einer Pez-Bonbon-Behälter zu Schuhen, Glühbirnen, Matchboxautos … sogar ein vermasseltes Polaroidfoto gestaltet er zu einem rostigen Kunstwerk. Ich sass neben der lieben MizCarla und hab mich gefreut, sie endlich kennenzulernen. Es machte Spass zu sehen, wie sie an ihrem Glühbirnenschrein arbeitete, sogar 2 Versionen. Bin immer wieder erstaunt, was für tolle Ideen alle in den Workshops haben. Hier ist mein Frida-Schrein, aber er ist noch nicht fertig. Mir fehlen noch viele Blumen, deshalb erstmal Blättriges. Ich konnte auch endlich einige seiner Stempel kaufen, die es bei Stampers Anonymous gibt. Mag sie! Meine Nichte Mikalah hatte Spass, an ihrem Geburtstag Modell für Michael’s coole mdmbook3.jpgSchürze zu spielen! Süß, oder? Wir konnten natürlich auch schon ein Vorexemplar von seinem bald erhältlichen Buch “Secrets of rusty things” bekommen. Es ist nicht ein übliches Workshopbuch mit Anleitungen, stattdessen gibt es Kapitel über Mythologie. Doch gibt es natürlich muchissimo Detail- und Arbeitsfotos, die die jeweiligen Assemblagen zu jedem Artikel bmdmbook4.jpgegleiten. Eine Augenweide und sicherlich interessante Lektüre. Und wenn Du ein paar extra Cents übrig hast und Mexiko liebst, möchtest Du vielleicht an seinem Workshop deMeng de los Muertos in Oaxaca, Mexiko im Oktober teilnehmen. Wäre es nicht herrlich, dorthin zu reisen …

La Pulquería – El día de los Muertos

11 responses to “Michael deMeng

  1. Woooooooow, this sounds just fab. Lucky you.😉 Your assemblage looks great so far, I would love to have a workshop with Michael de Meng either. I am soooooo jealous.😉 lol

  2. Belinda, I so enjoyed meeting you! Let’s stay in touch.

  3. I was lucky enough to attend one of Michael’s workshops when he came to Perth,Australia this year and it is something I too would highly recommend to anyone!
    You are right, it is amazing to see what everyone comes up with in his class as they are all so different. I like your light bulb piece, very colourful, very much your style, I look forward to seeing it completed. Ux

  4. I love your light bulb shrine. Very cool. I also love my purse I made in your class. I had such a wonderful time at A&S. I was thrilled to finally get to met you and to take your class.
    ~k~

  5. hi Belinda,
    sieht toll aus deine Frida-Glühbirne🙂
    ich sehe du hattest richtig spass.

    Liebe Grüße und ein schönes WE
    Sanja

  6. Oh…how cool is this!?! Ain’t Mikalah a doll? Now I see what you needed those calla’s for…looks nice, cant’s wait to see the finished product! ;o)

  7. I took Michael’s workshop when he was here in Fremantle, it was fantastic, I see everything now as having potential for an Assemblaaaaage. Love the colours in yours, you’ve really stretched the boundaries and created your own style, love it
    Ro
    xo

  8. big kisses to you sweet girl!! It was a real treat to get to giggle and play art with you! I absolutely adore how your lightbulb shrine turned out. I can still hear you saying “I not use Michael’s colors–I use Belinda’s colors”!! You rock!

    My bulb broke before I got home w/ it–so have to try again (dammit!!).

    xoxs
    C

  9. oh gott, ich glaube, ich bin ganz grün vor neid🙂 michael de meng… na, da würde ich auch gerne mal einen workshop mitmachen…🙂

  10. Love the Frida shrine. I also took a deMeng class recently. Weird and Wonderful Windows. What a hoot! The day just flew by! Great fun.

  11. If some onne needs to be updated with latest technologies after that hee must be
    pay a visit this web sie and be up to date everyday.

Leave a Reply

