Resist experiments

try4.jpg

Last week I discovered Alma Stoller‘s blog and found a twist of Jane Dunnewold‘s homemade potato starch resist technique on her old blog (recipe and itryfabric.jpgnstructions). Thought I’d use it with my handcarved stamps since I’ve been painting some white fabrics lately. I have tons of fabrics, but just love those homemade things. So I cut out a piece of the fabric not wanting to ruin the whole piece haha (1). And of course does the recipe not work since we have different products in Germany. In the end I managed to get a sort of paste and stamped one of my carved images onto the fabric (2), look real close for my stamp in the background. Since I applied it with a foam brush, I didn’t want the paste to be totry1.jpgo thick. I let it dry at bit and then painted on a top layer of contrasting colors. This moring it was a bit wrinkly and it even worked a bit!! Next I ironed and heat setting the top layer (3). I hesitantly yet curiously washed of the top layer. I noticed areas where I did not heatset the top layer long enough. But to my surprise the resist sort of worked and you can see my stamp image(4). It looks so much better in real than on the pic. I have to look for the right ingredients though next month when in the US. How cool is that? *** Letzte Woche hab ich Alma Stoller‘s Blog entdeckt und auf ihrem alten Blog (engl. Rezept) eine Variation von Jane Dunnewold‘s selbstgemachter Kartoffelstärke-Reservierungstechnik gefunden. Ein Rezept mit hiesigen Produkten kann ich leider nicht geben, aber letztendlich hat’s irgendwie schon ein bissl funktioniert. Dachte, ich verwendetry3.jpg es mit meinen geschnitzten Stempeln da ich in letzter Zeit ein paar Stoffe bemalt habe. Obwohl ich Millionen Stoffe hab, gefallen mir diese selbstgemachten Sachen doch zu gut. Natürlich wollte ich nicht ein Stück neuen bunten Stoff ruinieren, deshalb hab ich eine Ecke ausgeschnitten haha (1). Auf dem 2. Bild siehst Du bei genauen hinschauen den Stempelabdruck mit der Paste (2). Da ich’s mit einem Schwammpinsel aufgetragen habe, wollte ich’s nicht zu dick haben. Nach etwas Trockenzeit hab ich dann mit Kontrastfarben drüber gemalt. Und siehe da, heute morgen war’s richtig getrockent und hatte sich etwas zusammengezogen. Dann hab ich’s gebügelt zur Farbfixierung (3). Ganz vorsichtig und gespannt hab ich dann die Oberfläche abgewaschen und festgestellt, dass ich an einigen Enden nicht lange genug die Kontrastfarbe gebügetry2.jpglt und fixiert habe. Aber zu meinem Erstaunen hat die Reservierungspaste doch funktioniert und man sieht prima den Stempelabdruck (4). Das Originalstückchen sieht so viel besser in natura aus. Aber dennoch werde ich nächsten Monat in den USA mal nach den Originalprodukten Ausschau halten, die funktionieren. Wie cool ist das?

12 responses to “Resist experiments

  1. Das ist ja eine Superidee.😉 Nur habe ich keinen Stoff den ich bearbeiten könnte.😉 Überlege mir heute etwas für deinen Gotikbogen.😉

    Liebe Grüße
    Nicole

  2. das ist echt cool. bin ja gespannt auf deine weitere experimente.

    Liebe Grüße und ein schönes samstag

    wünscht dir
    Sanja

  3. I love your use of colours and on the fabric it just looks wonderful!! Thanks for sharing your great creations.. Nat

  4. that went well! i love painting on fabrics and think that the potato starch would be good to try. something new. thanks for the inspriation!
    my lovely red poppy is the only bit of bright in our winter wonderland… ah your felting!

  5. Hi Belinda,
    Thanks for sharing this site. I am going to have to have a go at this fabric printing, looks great. Your colours and design are gorgeous!
    Cant wait to see what you use if for.

  6. love it! i adore jane dunnewold’s cloth. your fabric is really beautiful.

  7. Beutiful colors Belinda! I am going to try this fabric printing too. Sound like good fun..

  8. What an absolutely beautiful job! I love all of the layers of vibrant color that you use!

    Hugs,
    Susan

  9. Bin zufällig auf deine Seite gekommen undhabe eine ganze Zeit hier verweilt.Werde wiederkommen. Find ich super interessant

  10. Looks fabulous Belinda, I’m going to have to give this a go. Thanks for sharing it with us.
    Ro

  11. Wonderful colors! Who would have ever thought it would work on fabric? How exciting to see the results!

  12. Belinda,

    So sorry it didn’t work. It really is an amazing technique when it works well. Keep trying it and I know it will work for you. Maybe you can change the instructions a bit by making it a little thicker…..add less starch to the mixture. See if that works.

    I love the colors on your fabric and your work as I have seen in several publications is awesome.
    Great work!

    Alma

Leave a Reply

