Chaiyya Chaiyya

orientaldance2.jpg

I love Maroccan food and on Friday night my oriental dance group went to Palais du Maroc, a small restaurant on the outskirts of Luxembourg city. They serve the most delicious food!! Here’s the restaurant’s bellydancer with one of the well advanced (and courageous) students. The restaurant is so beautifully decorated, we all wanted to take the food, the lamps and cushions home. If you like orientaldance1.jpgMarocco, you’ll also enjoy Maryam’s fabulous blog My Marrakesh, which I visit regularly for my oriental dose. Now moving on to Indian dance, I regularly get queries on Chaiyya Chaiyya, thought I’d post the words here in Urdu/Latin, German and English. Got it from an Indian dance teacher who had it translated to be more true to the Original than in the subtitles in the movie. In India it’s hot and in the shade temperatures are simply more bearable. Especially for lovers …😉 A great dance choreography can be learned from the DVD Bollyrobics, choreography from Andrew Lloyds Webber’s Bombay Dreams, as well as the song Maahi Ve. The third choreography is Monama from the movie Indian Love Story. What I like about Bollywood are the costumes and dances. *** Ich liebe Marokkanisches Essen und am Freitag waren wir mit meiner Orienttanzgruppe im Palais du Maroc, einem kleinen Restaurant am Rande von Luxemburg-Stadt. Dort gibt es das köstlichste Essen!! Hier ist die Bauchtänzerin des Restaurants mit einer unserer weit fortgeschrittenen (und mutigen) Schülerinnen. Das Restaurant ist so wunderschön dekoriert, dass wir alle das Essen, die Lampen und die Kissen mit nach Hause nehmem wollten. Wenn Du Marokko magst, wird Dir vielleicht Maryam’s toller Blog My Marrakesh gefallen. Bin dort regelmäßig für meine orientalische Dosis. Und jetzt geht’s zum Indischen Tanz, da ich immer wieder Anfragen zu Chaiyya Chaiyya habe, ist hier unten nun der Text in Urdu/Latin, Deutsch und Englisch. Hab ihn von einer Indischtanzlehrerin bekommen, und der Text ist nähmer am Original als in den Untertiteln auf dem Film. In Indien ist es heiß, und im Schatten sind die Temperaturen einfach erträglicher. Besonders für Verliebte …😉 Eine prima Tanzchoreographie gibt’s auf der DVD Bollyrobics, Originalchoreographie aus Andrew Lloyds Webber’s Bombay Dreams, und auch das Lied Maahi Ve. Die dritte Choreographie auf der DVD ist Monama aus dem Film Lebe und denke nicht an morgen. Was mir an Bollywood gefällt sind die Kostüme und Tänze.

** Chaiyya Chaiyya **

Prelude

Jinge sar hogi ishke ki chal /Pao keniche jannate hogi / Jinge sar hogi ishke ki chal

Chorus

Chale chaiyya chaiyya chaiyya chaiyya etc. / Sari ish ki di chaol chale chaiya chaiyya / Pao jannate chale chale chaiyya chaiyya / Pao jannate chale chale chaiyya / Chale chaiyya chaiyya chaiyya chaiyya etc.

Verse

Ho jare hai khushe bu kitara / Jis ki soba urdu kitara / Meri sham rate meri kaznat nojare mera saiyya saiyya

Chorus

Chale chaiyya chaiyya chaiyya chaiyya etc.

** Prelude

Jemandem, der im Kopf verrückt vor lauter Liebe ist / dem liegt der Himmel zu Füßen / der im Kopf verrückt vor lauter Liebe ist.

Refrain

Komm, lass uns in den Schatten gehen / Zueinander zärtlich sein – im Schatten können wir dies tun / Zueinander zärtlich sein – im Schatten können wir dies tun / Im Schatten haben wir den Himmel bei uns / Im Schatten haben wir den Himmel bei uns / Komm, lass uns in den Schatten gehen

Strophe

Ich habe eine Geliebte, die gleicht einem süßen Duft / Ihre Worte sind ein Gedicht / Meine Geliebte ist mein Abend, meine Nacht, meine ganze Welt

Refrain

*** Prelude

Someone, who is crazy for love in his head / the world’s his oyster / who is crazy for love in his head.

Chorus

Come, let us go into the shade / Be affectionate with each other – we can do this in the shade / Be affectionate with each other – we can do this in the shade / In the shade we’ll have paradise beneath our feet / In the shade we’ll have paradise beneath our feet / Come let us go into the shade

Verse

I have a beloved, which ist like a sweet scence / Her words are a poem / My beloved is my evening, my night, my entire world

Chorus …

*** You Tube of course has the original scene from the movie. *** You Tube hat natürlich die Originalszene aus dem Film.

Chaiyya Chaiyya from the Bollywood movie DIL SE (CD Shahrukh The King Khan)

5 responses to “Chaiyya Chaiyya

  1. I love this song-I have it on my Ipod. I first heard it as the theme song for the movie “Inside Man” and thought it was really catchy. In BC we hear alot of bhangra music because we have a large Indo-Canadian population. Thanks for the translation though-now at least I know what they are saying!

  2. I love that you do oriental dance! I am in Egypt with an American bellydancing friend, Kaydee (also known as Nefretari), who is starting bellydancing blog.:-)

  3. Belinda,
    You crack me up!!! I loved seeing the movie. I had actually heard the song in London or snatches of it as Bollywood is so popular over there but never knew the words or heard the song in its entirety; I feel an itune visit coming on!!! It is such a catchy tune as Lelainia said. I was fortunate enough to visit a moroccan restaurant owned by some parents in my son’s class also in London. It was fabulous because it had authentic decor and the food was devine. We had the traditional drink and shared a pipe(I couldn’t bring myself to try that but I went out of my comfort zone with the food.) I find the fact that you are learning bellydancing quite fascinating. It must be wonderful exercise!!

  4. I have just spent ages checking out the My Marrakesh blog… love it! Thanks for the link.
    Good luck with the belly dancing…keep us updated!

  5. Gosh, great posting mate, love oriental lifestyle.😉 Thought about starting with bellydance m,yself someday.😉

Leave a Reply

