Art Attack

eve_julius.jpg

Been making some art dolls over the past months, also with my sister’s kids. Since the gothic arch shape is laying on my art table, we turned it into dolls on Sunday. We voted democratically on the design. The first doll template had a neck and Julius said it looked like a bowling pin! Ok, so no neck. He asked for arms, so I showed ways to make arms since I didn’t fancy them holding hands. I wanted to make the doll smaller, but both wanted it big. We made little family doll books (accordion style) featuring them kids plus their parents. I took those photos in December for the first dolls and I can see how they have grown. Of course Eve is the cover girl on her family doll book and Julius is the cover boy on his. While she wanted pink, flowers, lace (oops, I don’t have glitter!) he wanted blue and my carved skull stamp. He drew on a belt, pockets and other details with a pencil so his t-shirt and jeans don’t look like a sleeper. Kind of reminds of the German “Weckmännchen” (available around end of November’s Sankt Martin celebrations) or “Nikolausmännchen” with a pipe (around Nikolaus early December) – backed doll from yeast dough you can buy around We need to finish it all next time since this art attack session already took several hours painting and stamping onto the dolls. *** Hab in den letzten Monaten einige art dolls gemacht, u.a. mit den Kids meiner Schwester. Da der Gotikbogen immer noch auf meinem Maltisch liegt, haben wir am Sonntag kurzerhand eine Puppe damit gemacht. Sie durften über das Design demokratisch mitenscheiden! Mein erster Entwurf hatte einen Hals und Julius meinte, er sieht wie eine Bowlingkegel aus! Ok, also kein Hals. Er wollte Arme und ich hab ihm dann verschiedene Möglichkeiten gezeigt, wollte aber nicht, dass sie sich an den Händen halten. Ich wollte die Puppe kleiner machen, doch beide wollten diese Größe. Wir haben ein Familienpuppenbuch (Leporellostil) mit den beiden und Eltern gemacht. Die Fotos hab ich im Dezember gemacht für die ersten Puppen und ich sehe, wie sie gewachsen sind. Natürlich ist Eve das Covergirl auf ihrem Buch und Julius auf seinem. Sie wollte Pink, Blumen, Spitze (ups, ich hab keinen Glitzer!), er wollte blau und meinen geschnitzten Schädelstempel. Er hat dann mit Bleistift Gürtel, Taschen und andere Details aufgemalt. Doch irgendwie sieht’s noch aus die ein Schlafanzug. Müssen wir alles das nächste Mal fertig machen, da diese Art Attack-Runde ein paar Stunden mit Malen und Bestempeln dauerte. Erinnert irgendwie an ein Weck- oder Nikolausmännchen

8 responses to “Art Attack

  1. Wow such cute kids!! Love the dolls and the way they’ve decorated their own to suit their personalites. Just wonderful. You’re a great Aunty Bel.

    Cheers Natalie B

  2. ja…mädchen lieben glitzer.:) klasse puppe habt ihr gezaubert.

    Liebe Grüße
    Sanja

  3. Ahh–what fun! You are such a great Auntie!! They must love coming to visit you!

    Hope you are well!

    Susan
    xo

  4. What fun….. I wish I had an Aunty like you when I was little to nuture my creative spirit!
    Their dolls are gorgeous.

    Jacky.

  5. Sounds really fun and the dolls are great.😉 Finished my first canvas and it is on my blog. ;))))

  6. das ja eine tolle idee. basteln mit kindern macht soo spaß. meine tochter will auch immer mitmachen, wenn ich für einen swap arbeite. sie hat bestimmt schon 1/4 meiner materialien in beschlag genommen🙂

  7. The kids are mmmmmmmmmmost adorable and the dollies are super! I love the shape and that each of them picked their decorations! FUN! Hugs,Patti

  8. Super Idee ein Familienfoto im Leporellostil zu machen.
    Den Kindern hat es total viel Spaß gemacht und sie waren ganz stolz auf ihre individuellen “Interpretationen” – auch die für Mami und Papi im Innenteil der Leporellos.
    Tausend Dank, Sis!
    LOL, Trixl

Leave a Reply

