Felt: Dshamilja and Shyrdak

I just cannot believe it’s already February! Where has time gone this year? Life has been really busy and so many wonderful things have been happening. Already last November I decided to pause from teaching wet felting overseas since it was getting a bit too much for a hobby. Just had to say no to further teaching invitations. I love wet felting and decided to attend an the Fourth International Felt Symposium in Kyrgyzstan in July. I am thrilled to bits already about discovering this lesser known nook of the world. I’ve been to Africa many times on business trips while working with developing countries so am aware to expect a different life. My neighbor has studied Russian and immediately gave me the book Jamila by Chinghiz Aitmatov (a Kyrgyz) to read when I told her about my plans. [I couldn’t find any info on the book in English, sorry. The German edition is translated from French.] This is such a beautiful love story and Aitmatov described his country so well and beautifully, that I could almost smell the secnts he discribed and see the beautiful Lake Issyk-Kul. Louis Aragon calls it the most beautiful love story in the world! I’m even more excited now to discover this country in the Summer. Felting is a traditional art in Kyrgyzstan and they have developed their own felting and embroidery techniques which they use to create the Yurt. Another special mosaik-style technique to create ornamental felted beauties is called Shirdak. And while I’m at it and you’re interested in felting, you really have to check out the book Dutch Felt/Vilt in Beeld by Ria van Els-Dubelaar. I bought it last year and was delighted to see it published bilingual (Dutch + English). We all know how creative the Dutch people are. It’s a fantastic book featuring 30 Dutch artists with very professional felt (non-crafty) featuring clothing, visual art, decorative objects, … The colorful ottoman and carpet are available at Shirdak‘s, a place to check out next time you’re in Amsterdam. *** Ich kann nicht fassen, dass es bereits Februar ist! Wo geht die Zeit nur hin? Hab viel um die Ohren und viele wunderschöne Dinge hat das Leben für mich bereit. Bereits letzten November hatte ich entschieden, eine Pause mit den Unterrichten von Naßfilzen einzulegen, da es für ein Hobby einfach zu viel wurde. Mußte leider nein zu wunderbaren Lehreinladungen sagen. Ich liebe Naßfilzen und hab mich entschieden, im Juli am Vierten Internationalen Filzsymposium in Kirgisistan teilzunehmen. Freu mich schon total drauf, diese weniger bekannte Ecke der Welt zu entdecken. Beruflich war ich schon öfter in Afrika, während ich mit Entwicklungsländern arbeitete, und bin mir so des anderen Lebens bewußt. Meine Nachbarin hat Russisch gelernt und mir sofort das Buch Dshamilja vom Kirgisen Dschingis Aitmatov zu lesen geben, als ich ihr von meiner Reise erzählte. Was für eine wunderschöne Liebesgeschichte und Aitmatov beschreibt sein Land so wunderschön, das ich beinahe die Düfte riechen konnte und die wunderschöne Landschaft des Sees Yssykköl , die er u.a. beschreibt. Louis Aragon nennt sie die schönste Liebesgeschichte der Welt! Freue mich noch mehr, das Land im Sommer zu entdecken. Filzen ist eine traditionelle Kunstform in Kirgisistan und im Laufe der Zeit haben sie ihre eigenen Filz- und Sticktechniken entwickelt, um die Jurte herzustellen. Eine weitere viel verbreitete spezielle Mosaiktechnik beim Filz ist auch der Shirdak, mit welcher wunderschöne ordutchfelt.jpgnamentige Filzmuster gemacht werden. Und wenn ich schon beim Filz bin, lohnt es sich wirklich das Buch Dutch Felt/Vilt in Beeld von Ria van Els-Dubelaar. Sie kombiniert am liebsten Seide mit Wolle und ist eine Textilkünstlerin. Ich hab es letztes Jahr bei Wollknoll gekauft und war erfreut zu sehen, dass es zweisprachig (NL + EN) veröffentlicht wurde. Dass die Holländer sehr kreativ sind ist ja bekannt, und so gibt dieses Buch einen wunderschönen Einblick in die Werke der Autorin und in der Gallerie werden weitere 30 niederländische Künstler mit verschiedenen Filzwerken (kein Bastelbuch) vorgestellt, von Kleidung zu Dekoobjekten und visueller Kunst. Den buten Ottoman und Teppich gibt’s bei Shirdak, unbedingt beim nächsten Amsterdamaufenthalt aufsuchen.

7 responses to “Felt: Dshamilja and Shyrdak

  1. Hört sich ja toll an. Habe noch nie nass gefilzt. Das müsste ich mir mal ansehen.😉

  2. I can see why you fell in love with the felting Belinda, it looks ssssstunning! GO where your heart leads you …….I am sure that is where you should be!

  3. how lovely for you to go into felting that deeply! i always thought a yurt would be a wonderful place for a spring retreat (in my own backyard)
    this trip sounds EXCITING!!!!
    p.s. still plan a visit when you come to our east coast – pretty please!

  4. I want to go to Kyrgestan! Look at that first photo you have posted. Swoon! Pick yourself off the floor and swoon again:-)

  5. Fantastic post !! I sent it to a friend who makes dresses with felt in California.

  6. Ooohhh I’m seriously jealous! I also hope to visit Kyrgyzstan and would like to go to the international felt Symposium…..Maybe I make it next year.

  7. It sounds like the symposium was great. I went to the Southern Hemisphere Felting convergence which is held every two years. In 2011 it was held in Perth Australia and in 2013 it will be held near Sydney. It is always great fun! I showed my new book called Felted Vests and had a great response. Felters are such warm, sharing, caring people…….

Leave a Reply

