Permanent marker

bw.jpg

I did it!! I finished my Christmas postcard marathon and mailed them today! So to compensate myself I did the other side of the spread which is so quick with this black and white theme. Audrey Hepburn is the other woman, actually the first one, that came to my mind with the b/w theme. I so admire her, the personification of beauty – inside and out! … I’ve been using edding permanent markers (or similar brands with same system) for forever and eventually all of them would leak and not write anymore although there was still plenty of ink left. Yesterday I went to the store since I just bought new ones last weekend and the fine white liner died the other night already. Normally I do it all using acrylics, but this so many cards to do it had to be quick. I was not surprised to hear that these markers are the product customer complain about the most and return. So what’s the secret? Well, now I know that when you buy a new marker, shake it very well and then pump. BUT pump means you gently press the tip down and HOLD it there. No further pumping of the tip. You press it down and hold it for a bit (maybe a minute?). That allows the ink to flow into the tip. And then, when it stops writing because all the ink is used up, just shake it well again. NO MORE PUMPING EVER! Only shaking. HA!! Why don’t they provide clear instructions if the product is so sensitive. Well, after all these years I now finally know how to use it correctly…

Been wanting to THANK all friends and bloggers for stopping by my nook, some regularly. It’s very nice to hear from you via e-mail or a comment. Or like Jorge, who touched me with the sweetest compliment. I enjoy blogging and enjoy visiting other blogs and sites. I’m heading for New York tomorrow but since my sister is online, I will pop in. And no, November was exceptional. Normally I don’t do that much art. But I didn’t give up posting for the art every month challenge! I admire those that do post every day. Haven’t had time to visit you the past days…

Dido – Thank you

Ich hab’s geschafft!! Ich bin fertig mit meinem Weihnachtspostkartenmarathon und hab alles zur Post gebracht! Als Ausgleich hab ich die andere Seite in meinem altered book gemacht mit dem ruckzuck schwarz-weiß Thema. Audrey Hepburn ist die andere Frau, eigentlich hatte ich zuerst an sie gedacht. Ich bewundere sie, sie ist die Personifizierung von Schönheit – innerlich und äußerlich! … Schon seit Ewigkeiten benuzte ich den edding Lackstift (oder gleiches System von anderer Firma) und früher oder später fingen alle an zu tropfen und schrieben nicht mehr, obwohl noch genügend Tinte drin war. Gestern bin ich also zu dem Laden gegangen, wo ich letztes Wochenende wieder einen feinen Lackstift gekauft hat weil er nachts zuvor den Geist aufgegeben hat. Eigentlich verwende ich gerne Feinpinsel und Acrylfarben, aber bei so vielen Karten mußte es schneller sein. Ich war nicht überrascht zu hören, dass dieser Stift das Produkt ist, dass die meisten Kunden reklamieren und zurückgebringen. Und was ist das Geheimnis? Also, wenn Du den Stift neu kaufst, schüttel ihn gründlich und dann pumpen. ABER pumpen bedeutet einmal sachte mit der Spitze aufdrücken und dann für eine Weile so halten (ca. 1 Minute?) damit die Tinte in die Spitze laufen kann. Und dann, wenn er nicht mehr schreibt, weil Tinte aufgebraucht ist, einfach nur schütteln. NIE MEHR PUMPEN!! Nur noch schüttlen. HA!! Warum gibt’s keine ordentliche Beschreibung wenn das Teil so empfindlich ist? Immerhin weiß ich nun nach all den Jahren, wie ich ihn richtig anwenden soll …

Gleichzeitig möchte ich allen Freunden und Bloggern DANKEN, dass sie hier immer wieder mal vorbeischauen. Es ist schön von Euch zu hören, sei es via E-mail oder Kommentar. Oder wie Jorge, der mir das allernetteste Kompliment gemacht hat. Bloggen macht Spass und ich besuche gerne Eure Blogs oder ähnliches! Morgen flieg ich nach New York, aber da meine Schwester online ist, werde ich reinschauen. Und nein, November war ein Ausnahmemonat. So viel mach ich normalerweise nicht. Aber ich hab sogar die art every month challenge durchgehalten! Bewundere diejenigen, die täglich schreiben. Hatte die letzten Tage wenig Zeit dazu …

2 responses to “Permanent marker

  1. Total schön geworden.😉 habe bisher noch nie ein altered book gemacht und würde zu gerne mal einen Eintrag in einem machen. ASlso wenn du eins für mich hast zum signen, dann gerne.😉
    Liebe Grüße
    Nicole

  2. WOW. I never knew that about markers, but I am very glad I read this. I’ve never used edding markers, but I do use similar ones, and I think knowing this will help a great deal! Thank you…

    I, too, have great admiration for Audrey Hepburn.

Leave a Reply

