Art Quilt

fabricquiltselection.jpg

Just finished painting 10 sheets of watercolor paper for my xmas postcards. So I thought I’d start with an art quilt for a private swap. We’ve discussed this months ago so it’s about time I start. When making an art quilt, selecting the fabrics is sometimes the hardest thing for me. Last week I bought some tiny olive glass beads which I plan to use. When cutting the batting I realized I didn’t have enough stabilizer left anymore, duh! I either use Pelmet (Craft) Vilene or Timtex. Pelmet Vilene is from the UK and a bit thinner and bends better and is also cheaper since twice as wide than Timtex, which is from the US. I buy mine both at Quilt- & Textilkunst in Munich. Web of Thread, Fabric Depot … sell Timtex. Crafty Notions carries Pelmet Vilene My friend picked the colors olive green, rusty red and sun yellow for her quilt. What I do first is go through my stack of fabrics and then pull out the ones which go with the desired colors. Then I make a first selection (above). Good thing she likes Bali Batiks as much as I do! The cut out batting gives me an idea about the size in real (10 x 12 inches). Then I start piecing the fabric together. First I decide on the foreground and background. Not quite sure about the forground, but for a start I chose yellow and maybe fabch1.jpg2 different strips on the sides. Then I want to put 4 pennants on top of the quilt which will be hanging down. So I lay on the fabrics until I think it’s what I want. I like to create bodies for my people, so the red on the yellow might just be that. But maybe not … Then I get out my fabric images. I just love to use ARTchix Studio fabric sheets. They are readily printed in a high and washable quality and so versatile in their use. Easy peasy! So I lay them on, cut out some images and play around. Either I know what I want or I’ll leave everything out and will look at it regularly until I know what I want. I actually know what I will do but don’t want to disclose more at this point. Don’t think I’ll finish it before Christmas… But I’ll show more once I’ve started cutting out and stitching it together. My art for today. *** Hab gerade 10 Aquarellbögen mit Acryl für die Weihnachtspostkarten bemalt. Wollte die Zeit nutzen und mit einem Art Quilt für einen privaten Tausch anfangen. Wir haben das schon vor Monaten besprochen, wird also höchste Zeit, dass ich anfange. Wenn ich einen Art Quilt mache brauch ich oft unglaublich lange, bis ich den Stoff ausgewählt habe. Letzte Woche hab ich kleine olivfarbene Glasperlen für den Quilt gekauft. Als ich das Vlies zuschnitt bemerkte ich, dass ich keinen Stabilisator mehr habe, echt clever! Ich benutze entweder Pelmet (Craft) Vilene or Timtex. Pelmet Vilene ist aus England und etwas dünner, biegt besser und ist auch noch billger da doppelt so breit wie Timtex (aus den USA). Ich kauf beide bei Quilt- & Textilkunst in München. Meine Freundin hat sich die Farben olivgrün, rostrot und sonnengelb für Ihren Quilt ausgesucht. Zuallererst such ich mir passende Stoffe aus meiner Sammlung aus. Dann treff ich eine erste Auswahl (oben). Zum Glück mag sie Bali Batiks genauso gerne wie ich! Das zugeschnittene Vlies hilft mir beim weiteren Arbeiten (10 x 12 inch). Dann fang ich an mit dem Zusammenstellen. Zuerst such ich einen Stoff für vorne und hinten aus. Ich roll gerne die Ränder um, also such ich Kontrastfarben aus. Bin mir noch nicht sicher über vorne, aber gelb wird mit drin sein, und vielleicht fabimagech1.jpgStreifen an den Seiten? Dann will ich oben 4 Wimpel runterhängen lassen. Also leg ich so lange Stoffe hin und her, bis es passt. Ich mach gerne Leute mit Körpern, der rote Stoff wird vielleicht dafür benutzt. Vielleicht auch nicht … Dann pack ich meine Stoffmotive aus. Am liebsten benutze ich ARTchix Studio fabric sheets. Sie sind fertig gedruckt und bester Qualität und sogar waschbar. Also kinderleicht! Such dann einige Bögen aus, schnippel einzelne Motive aus und spiel herum mit ihnen. Entweder weiß ich gleich was ich will oder ich lass alles offen liegen und schau so immer mal wieder drauf. In diesem Fall weiß ich, was ich machen möchte, will jetzt aber noch nicht mehr zeigen. Es wird sowieso vor Weihnachten nicht fertig sein … Werde aber mehr zeigen, wenn ich mit dem Ausschneiden und evtl. Zusammennähen angefangen hab. Meine art for today.

2 responses to “Art Quilt

  1. Love your color combos! I think picking fabric is harder than paper at times! Good luck with your art quilt.

  2. hallo Belinda,
    für nähen hab ich zwei linke hände *lach*, aber socken stricken kann ich.
    spass bei seite…du machst wirklich tolle sachen.
    bin schon auf fertige quilt gespannt.
    Lg Loona

Leave a Reply

