Female Music

I grinned when I saw Michelle’s new GPP crusade theme – Music. Music was my first love – I think John Miles stole that line for his brilliant epic song from ME! Cant live without it. And it was hard as a teenager since I shared a room with my sister Beatrix (now a professional opera singer). So there was either my rock blasting or her voice practice, rehearsals … oh boy … I survived and still love classic music, in particular Puccini’s “O mio babbino caro”! Anyway … thought I’d throw in this female music post while thinking who to start my GPP crusade with. Amazon knows my likes and they just popped a link on my front page to Sarah McLachlan‘s Wintersong CD. You can view and hear her enchanting voice and music here. I discovered her years ago when my oldest sister lived in Toronto and she was unknown over here. My favorite Canadian singer!!! Have all her CDs. And at the same time I discovered Loreena McKennitt‘s new realase on Nov. 21. Also have several of her CDs. You can listen to music excerpts here. A beautiful celtic mystic sound. More money to spend … *** Ich mußte grinsen, als ich vor ein paar Tagen Michelle`s neues GPP crusade (Kreuzzug) Thema las – aktuelle Musik. Music was my first love, sicherlich hat John Miles den Titel für seinen genialen epischen Song von MIR gestohlen! Bei mir geht’s nicht ohne Musik. Und als Teenager hatte ich es schwer, da ich das Zimmer mit meiner Schwester Beatrix teilte (jetzt eine professionelle Opernsängerin). Also kam aus unserem Zimmer entweder rockige Töne oder Ihre Stimmübungen … au weia … Ich hab’s überlebt und liebe immer noch klassische Musik, besonders Puccini’s “O mio babbino caro”! Jedenfalls … dachte ich, dass ich mal etwas für Frauenmusik einstelle während ich mir überlege, mit wem ich die GPP crusade beginne. Amazon kennt meine Vorlieben und heute haben sie einen Link zu Sarah McLachlan‘s Wintersong CD auf meine Startseite verlinkt. Du kannst hier ein Video dazu sehen und ihre bezaubernde Musik und Stimme hören. Ich hab sie vor vielen Jahren entdeckt, als meine älteste Schwester in Toronto lebte und sie hier noch niemand kannte. Mittlerweile hat sich das geändert. Sie ist meine liebste kanadische Sängerin!! Besitze alle ihre CDs. Und hab dann bei Amazon auch gesehen, dass die Kanadierin Loreena McKennitt am 21. November eine neue CD herausgeben wird. Hier kannst Du reinhören. Hab auch mehrere CDs von ihr. Herrlich keltisch-mystisch. So rinnt einem das Geld durch die Finger … John Miles:

4 responses to “Female Music

  1. oh my goodness! as much as you had a hard time with your sisters practice, that must have been incredible !!!! i love opera! i love music!
    wow !!!

  2. Belinda,
    You are costing me money; listened to sarah and could not resist wintersong. I love xmas music. I am in awe that you have a sister that is a professional opera singer. Do you get to see operas on the cheap? I have never been but I do like opera. I love love love Andrea Bocelli and have quite a few of his cd’s. Do you have an ipod? I just saw the newest shuffle which is soooooo cool.

  3. oh, thanks for telling about loreena. i heard of her the first time three and a half years ago when i sat in a kitchen in northern iceland talking to a man from taiwan about trees! he told me about her and later sent me her cd for my birthday. i didn’t know about her new release so it was great to hear🙂

  4. Oh danke für diese wunderbaren Tipps. Die CD von Sarah “Afterglow” liegt hier in meinem Player und dudelt hoch und runter und auch von Loreena habe ich ein Album. Meine nachbarn haen sie mal live gesehen und waren so begeistert. Ich liebe beide Sängerinnen und werde mir die neuen Alben sicher leisten!

Leave a Reply

