Art Desk Calendar

calcover.jpg

Finally received my Somerset Studio and have been able to see the article with my art desk calendar in the mélange section in real. Thanks all for your e-mails in the past days, and Tina for breaking the news to me! You’re all so very kind! Really haven’t had much time to submit things this year. But since I love Christmas I couldn’t resist and rushed off this quick-to-do art desk calendar project using cool scrap papers from k&company. You know that I’ve been challenging myself to use rubberstamps more often, so I used a different image stamp for every month from ARTchix Studio (March, May, September, November, December) Paper Artsy (cover, February, April, June, July, October) and Tim Holtz (January). The coil binder is such a versatile product and I love to use it for calendars and book projects. Jenny Doh created such a beautiful article, thank you Somerset Studio! And I so love the s1som0606_sprd_031.jpgwirls on the page layout. Believe it or not, but Somerset already has returned the calendar to me! This is such a fabulous Christmas issue! Rubberstampers will be interested in the beautiful milk-resist technique. As always there are many mixed-media collage articles. I really like the cute ornaments from Maureen Blackman. Have never seen them before and will definitely give them a try! And my art retreat friend Nellie Wortman has some beautiful artwork in the expression pages. She treated me with one of her stunning Christmas book a few years ago, it’s on my picturetrail. I’m always deligcal07.jpghted when I see her vintage artwork in print. Look for her Christmas tryptichon (soldered glass), just gorgeous. *** Hab heute meine Somerset Studio bekommen und endlich den Artikel mit meinem Tischkalender im Mélange-Teil gesehen. Vielen Dank für all die netten E-Mails in den letzten Tagen, besonders Tina, die mich mit der Neuigkeit überrascht hat! Ihr seid viel zu lieb! Hatte nicht wirklich Zeit was einzuschicken dieses Jahr. Aber da ich Weihnachten liebe, konnte ich der Versuchung nicht widerstehen und hab diesen recht schnell zu machenden Kalender eingeschickt. Schnell, weil ich die tollen Papiere von K & Company benutzt habe! Ist ja nicht neu, dass ich meine Stempel öfter einsetzen möchte, deshalb hab ich cal01.jpganstelle fertiger Collagemotive jeden Monat ein Motiv gestempelt, manchmal auch nur den Kopf. Verwendete Stempel sind von ARTchix Studio (März, Mai, September, November, Dezember) Paper Artsy (cover, Februar, April, Juni, Juli, Oktober) und Tim Holtz (Januar). [Ich kauf meine Sachen alle in der Münchner Stempeloase.] Ich liebe auch die Spiralbindung und benutze sie gerne für solche Kalender oder Bücher. Jenny Doh hat einen wunderschönen Artikel zusammengestellt, vielen Dank Somerset Studio! Die Swirls gefallen mir natürlich extra gut! Und ob Du es glaubst oder nicht, aber ich hab den Kalender bereits letzte Woche zurückerhalten. Und es ist ihnen mal wieder eine geniale Weihnachtsausgabe gelungen!cal02.jpg Stempler dürften besonders an der tolen Milch-Resist-Technik interessiert sein. Und wie immer gibt es eine Fülle an Mixed-Media Collageartikeln. Besonders gut gefallen mir die Weihnachtsbaumanhänger von Maureen Blackman. Waren mir unbekannt und ich werde sie sicherlich ausprobieren! Und dann hat meine art retreat Freundin Nellie Wortman wunderschöne Sachen auf den Expression-Seiten. Vor ein paar Jahren hatte sie mir eins ihrer genialen Weihnachtsbücher geschenkt (ist auf meinem Picturetrail). Bin immer begeistert, wenn ich ihre Sachen in einer Zeitschrift entdecke. Das Buch und auch ein Weihnachtstryptichon (gelötet, mit Glas) sind dort zu sehen.

9 responses to “Art Desk Calendar

  1. Dein Kalender ist einfach nur klasse! Tolle Kunstwerke, jeden Monat ein neues!

  2. I saw the Art Desk Calendar spread in Somerset Studio and loved it, but I didn’t make the connection that you are THAT Belinda Schneider! I also realize now that you are the creator of the felted purses I saw in the Haute Handbags magazine. You are so multi-talented and creative, and I can’t tell you how much I enjoy reading your blog. Your creative soul is an inspiration:-)

  3. Wow Belinda. This looks not only fabulous but easy to make! Not sure if I can make one for next year, but definitely aiming for 2008. Thanks for sharing.

  4. oh nat, thanks for reminding me. if anyone wants a pdf-file with the months for next year, just drop a comment or e-mail me. hätte ich fast vergessen: wenn jemand eine pdf-datei mit den kalendermonaten will, einfach melden.

  5. Belinda…i saw this article and just loved it. I poured over it looking at all the wonderful pages an the rubberstamps you used…….beautiful!

  6. Congrats on this article!
    It’s a lovely article and your art ROCKS!

  7. Congratulation’s on your wonderful article Belinda! Terrific artwork!

  8. hab grade meine somerset studio bekommen und deinen artikel gleich entdeckt – super! gefällt mir wieder ausgesprochen!!!

  9. Belinda, I would like the months for 2009 in a PDF if you have them. I don’t have your article yet but hope I can get a back issue soon so I can learn to make the calendar.

    If you don’t have access to a coil-maker like this, do you know of any blank books that might work in this regard? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

