Art & Soul – DJ Pettitt

india1a.jpgMy last class was DJ Pettitt’s layering in luxury. I’ve known and admired her rubberstamp artistry for many years, so without really reading the class description I signed up for this book class. Only the night before class I remembered we needed images, so I quickly sketched some east Indian faces which I just love and copied them the next morning at the hotel. The hotel is really the best and most helpful and friendly. Great choice! Anyway, the images transfered smoothly. DJ provided us also with a great class kit and she was very generous about sharing her own drawn images, but of course I prefer to use my own. I should have taken pictures of Katie’s and Kelly Rae’s pages with their own images, so instead click thru to their blogs. My favorite part though was the fabric book base, a long quilted fabric strip. But it was white! I don’t know what DJ had in mind for us to do with it, but I’m no seamstress. So I got out my paints and rubberstamps and started to add color and texture to the base. I’india2.jpgve known the TLS (translucent liquid sculpey) transfer since I started rubberstamping. Art-e-zine has the best online transfer encyclopedia! But I’m still not really a fan of it. It’s nice and works easily, especially as a standalone transfer, but I think gel and water transfers work so much better and faster on paper and fabric. However, the liquid clay transfer is kind of milky looking (as you can see on the images) and looks cool layered over a patterned surface and you can stitch very nicely through it with your sewing machine. It’s also great over netty textures such as tull, organdy etc. Since it’s a book, I just glued mine down. This was a fun, easy and tranquil class and after showing us how the transfer works, she showed us a few of her india3.jpgcoloring and texture techniques and then we were able to create our own pages. Of course is my book far from being finished, but eventually I’ll get there… TLS works not well if at all for colored images (we colored the images, but they also look really cool without any color), so if you like this transfer method you might want to look into Liquid Fimo, a German product. According to product information this works for color transfers as well. Who knows, I might give it a try one day. Someone mentioned DJ had an article published with the transfer technique and her books. I honestly know nothing about that, but check with DJ. I love my fabric book and have already made several some years ago. They feel so soft and have a great grip! And of course were we able to enjoy 2 of DJ’s own books. *** Mein letzter Workshop war DJ Pettitt’s “Luxuriös geschichtet”. Seit vielen Jahren bewundere ich ihre Stempelkunst und hab deshalb ohne Lesen der Workshopbeschreibung mich dafür angemeldet. Ein Abend vorher erinnerte ich mich daran, dass wir kopierte Motive mitbringen sollten, also hab ich schnell ein paar indische Frauen skizziert, die ich so gerne mag und hab sie am nächsten Morgen schnell im Hotel kopiert. Das Hotel ist wirklich genial und das Personal äußerst hilfreich und freundlich. Prima Wahl! Aber egindia4.jpgal, die Motivtransfers klappten bestens. DJ hatte auch ein prima Workshoppäckchen vorbereitet und hat sehr großzügig ihre eigenen Motive verteilt. Aber natürlich benutz ich lieber meine eigenen. Ich hätte Bilder von den eigenen wunderschönen Motiven von Katie und Kelly Rae machen sollen … stattdessen könnt ihr ja zu den Blogs durchklicken. Am besten hat mir allerdings die Buchgrundlage gefallen, einen langen gequilteten Stoffstreifen. Aber der war weiß! Keine Ahnung, was DJ da mit uns vorhatte und bin ja auch keine Näherin. So ich hab kurzerhand meine Acrylfarben und Stempel herausgenommen und bald war kein Weiß mehr zu sehen. TLS (translucent liquid sculpey) Transfers kenne ich seit ich stempel. Art-e-zine hat die beste online Transfer-Enzyclopädie! Bin aber immer noch nicht davon überzeugt. Es geht prima und recht einfach, besonders interessant ist das Transfer alleine. Doch finde ich Gel- und Wasser-Transfers viel einfacher auf Papier und Stoff. Doch das milchige Transfer (wie man es gut auf den Fotos erkennen kann) sieht cool über Strukturen oder Mustern aus. Und ist gut auf löchrigen Strukturen wie Tüll, Organza etc. Es ist auch ganz leicht mit der Nähmaschine an- und durchzunähen. Da es für ein Buch ist, hab ich meine einfach aufgeklebt. Der Workshop hat schon Spass gemacht, war einfach und alle waren entspannt. Naindia5.jpgch der Transferdemo zeigte sie uns wie sie sie bemalt und Schichten kombiniert. TLS funktioniert nicht oder schlecht mit Farbkopien, aber sie sehen auch ohne prima auf bunter oder strukturierter Oberfläche aus. Die Deutschen (und Europäer) versuchen besser mal Liquid Fimo, von Eberhard Faber. Nach Herstellerangaben soll es auch mit Farbkopien funktionieren. Wer weiß, vielleicht probier ich es mal irgendwann aus. Jemand erwähnte, dass sie einen Artikel über diesen Workshop geschrieben hat, aber davon weiß ich wirklich nichts, aber Du kannst ja DJ kontaktieren. Mir gefällt das Stoffbuch bestens und ich hab schon mehrere vor ein paar Jahren gemacht. Sie fühlen sich super an und liegen herrlich weich in der Hand. Und natürlich konnten wir auch 2 von DJ’s eigenen Büchern bewundern.

dj2.jpgdj1.jpg

8 responses to “Art & Soul – DJ Pettitt

  1. These are very very beautiful. I love the rich colours and luscious textures. And your faces are wonderful!
    Really breathtaking.

  2. wieder was gelernt.*lach* hab ich mich schon gefragt, wie kann man am besten collage motive auf gefilzte tasche *übertragen*.
    bin am überlegen ob ich mit bedruckbare folie (für t-shirt) versuchen soll? !

  3. Hi Belinda! Your book is beautiful. I hope to find time and finish mine soon too. Perhaps I will felt a flower as an added embellishment:)

  4. Belinda! I love your eastern women. They are so cool and stylish, yet in the trad style. Your fabric book is wonderful!

  5. oh my, your book looks fabulous! wasn’t that class so great?! it was such a pleasure meeting you and i loved your class, too. you did a great job!

  6. oh belinda – your book is just stunning!!! it was such an interesting process, sitting next to you and watching you do your own thing from the very beginning with dj’s process and your drawing. and now to see it finished, so beautiful!!!

    i must admit i have done not one bit of art since i got back and i feel the frustration because of it. i will march into my art room right now and paint!

  7. WOW. I am in love with these pieces, they are gorgeous in so many ways. You did such a great job…very, very inspiring.

  8. please contact me i want these in my boutique lovely!

Leave a Reply

