Photobooth

Susan, the owner of my fave interior design shop SuGoBo (in Frankfurt) has great taste and I just love to go through her bookshelf. She doesn’t sell them, but we can peruse and enjoy them. She has already made me buy some books. One is “Photobooth“. It presents over 700 photobooth photographs from the last 75 years. I didn’t know until I found the book that in 1925 the Siberian immigrant (to the US) Anatol Josepho had the idea for a small curtain enclosed booth where people could take affordable portraits anonymously and automatically. It’s a book you will not regret to own. I love to page through the book and sometimes wonder who that person might have been. Why sHe were taking the photo etc. From silly to serious … a real treasure for the collage artist. And while I’m at it … Gillian offers for a small donation to maintain art-e-zine a brilliant photobooth picture collection. I’ve been supporting them for years and was thrilled to see that we can now even download several theme sets of pictures for the small fee. *** Susan, die Besitzerin meines Lieblingsinneneinrichtungsladen SuGoBo (in Frankfurt) hat einen klasse Geschmack und ich stöbere sooo gerne durch ihr Buchregal. Sie verkauft die Bücher zwar nicht, aber wir können sie uns anschauen und genießen. Dank ihr hab ich mir schon einige Bücher gekauft. Eins davon ist “Photobooth“. Dort werden über 700 Fotoautomatbilder aus den letzten 75 Jahren gezeigt. Bis ich das Buch fand wußte ich nicht, dass der siberische Immigrant (in die USA) 1925 Anatol Josepho die Idee für einen Automaten mit einem kleinen Vorhang hatte, wo Leute günstige Portraits anonym und automatisch machen könnten. Du wirst es nicht bereuen, dieses Buch zu besitzen. Ich blättere es total gerne durch und frage mich manchmal, wer die Person damals war. Warum sie/er das Foto gemacht haben etc. Von lustig bis ernst … ein richtiger Schatz für den Collagefreund. Und wenn ich shcon mal dabei bin … Gillian bietet für eine kleine Spende eine klasse Fotoautomat-Kollektion an, um art-e-zine am Leben zu halten. Seit Jahren unterstütze ich sie schon und war erfreut zu sehen, dass es für eine kleine Spende nun mehrere Themen-Kollektionen zum Herunterladen gibt.

Leave a Reply

