Vintage Kyrgyz Treasures

wallhanging-tush-kiiz_kyrgyzstan.jpg

Falling in love with Kyrgyz traditional handicraft is so easy, just look at my vintage treasures. The felt and embroideries are everywhere and I love that they are so colorful. Such a shame they make them less colorful for export to the west. Who says vintage cannot be colorful!! After seeing some tush-kiiz wallhanging in yurts, homes and museums, I couldn’t resist purchasing this piece, which has one triangle only (tassels are not part of it). Often there are two representing the bride and the groom since it used to be given as a wedding gift (read more about it here). Normally, there’s a fabric backing in the middle section which luckily was already missing, so there is just my yellow wall. *** Es fällt so leicht, sich in das kirgisische traditionelle Kunsthandwerk zu verlieben, schau Dir nur meine alten Schätze an. Filz und Stickereien sind überall und so farbenfroh. Zu schade, dass sie extra für den Export in den Westen in gedeckten Farben hergestellt werden. Wer sagt, dass Vintage nicht auch farbenfroh sein kann!! Nachdem ich einige Tush-kiiz Wandbehänge in Yurts, Häusern und Museen gesehen habe, kam ich nicht umhin mir dieses wunderschöne Stück zu kaufen, dass nur ein Dreieck hat (Quassten gehören nicht dazu). Meist gibt es 2 Dreiecke, die die Braut und den Bräutigam repräsentieren, da es oft als Hochzeitsgeschenk verwendet wird (mehr dazu kannst Du hier nachlesen). Gewöhnlich ist in der Mitte noch ein Stück Stoff, dass bei mir aber glücklicherweise fehlt und somit nur meine gelbe Wand zu sehen ist.

vintage-earrings_kyrgyzstan.jpg

I used to love earrings but lost in interest in jewelry many years ago. However, after seeing a lot of gorgeous traditional Kyrgyz antique and vintage jewelry in some museums, I just couldn’t pass up on acquiring these 2 beautiful pair of vintage earrings. Beautiful oriental style. Finally found a good use for the vintage Indian drawer knobs.*** Früher liebte ich Ohrringe, hab aber vor etlichen Jahren total das Intersse an Schmuck verloren. Doch nachdem ich traumhaft schöne traditionelle kirgisische antiken und alten Schmuck in einigen Museen gesehen habe, konnte ich an diesen beiden wunderschönen Paar alten Ohrringen nicht vorbei. Wunderschöner orientalischer Stil. Nun hab ich auch endlich eine verwendung für die alten indischen Schubladenknöpfe gefunden.

embroidered-fabric2_kyrgyzstan.jpg

Don’t know what this beautiful square piece of embroidered fabric was originally used for, but you can still see the stitches from being attached to something. I just love the fringes with the metal chips and beads. ***Weiß nicht, wozu dieses wunderschöne viereckige bestickte Stoffstück eigentlich verwendet wurde, aber Du kannst immer noch die Stiche sehen, wo es an etwas befestigt war. Besonders gut gefallen mir die Fransen mit den Metallplättchen und Perlen.

tassle-ribbon_kyrgyzstan.jpg

Everywhere there were beautiful woven ribbons and tassels and I couldn’t resist passing up on two of these two and an embroidered door hanging (end of side panels below). *** Überall sah ich wunderschön gewobene Bänder und Quassten und konnte an zweien von diesen nicht vorbei als auch an einem gestickten Türbehang (Ende der Seitenteile unten).

door-hanging-embroidery_kyrgyzstan.jpg

I LOVE this artist, song, album … *** Ich LIEBE diese Sängerin, dieses Lied, das neue Album …

Tori Amos – Bouncing off clouds

5 responses to “Vintage Kyrgyz Treasures

  1. das sind wirklich tolle sachen!das bestickte stoffstück kommt mir irgendwie bekannt vor. ich glaub so was änliches hab ich schon mal bei meine georgische freudin gesehen. sieht super aus.

  2. Gorgeous yellow wall and display…Okay, I am coming over!… I love the earrings and I found some similar here in Beirut (I think the nomads from Anatolia used to wear them). When I go back to Austin, I am going to send a picture of a similar piece of fabric cum jewelry which I bought here in an antique shop. It looks like either part of a belt or a headdress. Maybe you can help identifying these. Thank you again for bringing the world to us!

  3. What fabulous images, the earrings are divine and I love the embroidery

  4. Just had to tell you that i love those earrings! :o)

  5. Do you know if it’s possible to purchase any Kyrgyz fabric online? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

